四家科技公司如何使用房地產來支援其業務

透過利用靈活的空間並針對員工體驗進行設計,當今的科技公司在房地產方面採用了創新的方法

科技產業以酷炫的工作空間及充滿便利設施而聞名—但要創造吸引人才、激發創新和提高員工參與度的環境,不是只有建造攀岩牆或設置咖啡吧如此簡單而已。最成功的科技業辦公室用細心周到的思維,來設想哪些要素能促進員工更專注、高效和愉快地工作。 

科技公司的員工從軟體工程師到產品設計師都有。根據不同的工作職能,員工可能需要空間來解決筆電上的複雜問題,與隊友集思廣益,或與將推廣和銷售其產品與服務的銷售和行銷團隊合作。因此,他們的工作場所也需要多樣化,提供多種空間類型讓員工可以全天專注於不同的任務;視訊增強會議室、小會議室、多功能咖啡廳和安靜的沉思空間等設施可幫助科技員工順利完成工作。此外,公司文化應鼓勵員工在辦公室內自由移動,使用這些不同類型的空間。

Slack 在紐約的 WeWork 辦公室。

除此之外,色彩繽紛的家具和藝術品可以幫助激發新的想法。一個健康、符合人體工學的環境,加上充足的自然採光、新鮮空氣和植物,可以使員工保持活力。 

另外,當今成功的科技公司通常需要根據業務需求擴大規模,因此他們需要一個可以隨其發展的工作空間。 

WeWork 的企業解決方案可以針對每個客戶的業務進行設置,包括科技公司獨特的需求。了解領先的科技公司如何與 WeWork 合作,為不斷壯大的科技團隊建立理想的工作空間。

Slack 的使命導向型工作空間 

作為工作場所的溝通工具,Slack 旨在幫助公司變得更加透明;Slack 平台促進了資訊的開放流動,因此員工可以建立更多的聯繫和協作。因此,很自然地,當 Slack 需要一個紐約辦公室時,他們求助於 WeWork 來構建一個吸引人的客製化空間,反映其使命及開放的文化。 

Slack 的紐約空間包括許多靈活的座位選擇,因此員工可以在正式場合或小型聚會中進行協作。每個單獨的工作空間均按照人體工學進行設計,並擁有科技團隊工作所需之配備。 

Slack 的全球工作空間與房地產副總裁 Deano Roberts 說:「每當我看到最具意義和影響力的工作場所時,就認為工具、文化和空間之間存在著深刻的聯繫。Slack 是一個讓人們可以同聚一堂盡情發揮所長的協作中心。而 WeWork 就是呈現這概念的實體成品。」

Pinterest 值得一提的辦公空間

當總部位於舊金山的 Pinterest 開始成倍增長並需要招募銷售和工程職位人員時,他們開始將西雅圖作為尋找新人才的新地點。但是,銷售人員和工程師有不同的需求和工作方式:銷售團隊需要專門的空間來接聽電話並接待客戶,而工程師則需要能進行集思廣益和有白板的地方,以及能全神貫注的空間。 

Pinterest 給了 WeWork 一個建立動態辦公室的挑戰,讓兩組員工都能擁有其所需事物。結果是,新的西雅圖辦公室有供專注工作的寧靜空間,也有供舉辦活動和招待客人的公共區域。

Pinterest 在西雅圖的 WeWork 辦公室。

TripActions 在全球的靈活辦公室 

身為一個快速發展的商務旅行平台,TripActions 需要在全球不同市場進行擴展並招募當地人才。與其在各地點尋找辦公室,並簽長期租約,TripActions 決定與 WeWork 合作。使用 WeWork 作為他們的單一聯絡窗口,TripActions 於一年內在舊金山倫敦阿姆斯特丹雪梨紐約開設辦公室,員工數從 40 位成長到 400 位。

TripActions 的營收長 Rich Liu 表示:「WeWork 為我們提供了快速成長所需的靈活性,我們不必擔心為不需要的空間支付過高的費用。」

ezCater 令人垂涎三尺的新總部

線上企業到府餐飲市場 ezCater 自 2012 年來每年都以一倍的速度成長。ezCater 在達到 375 名員工以後,尋求一個靈活的工作空間以適應他們的成長,同時培養強大的公司文化以及吸引和保留人才的能力。

公司將總部遷至位於波士頓 40 Water St 的 WeWork 空間,佔據全部四個樓層。這個空間以飲食藝術反映 ezCater 的業務,充滿活力的綠色配色以及其他以食物為主題的品牌形象贯穿整個空間。員工可以在開放式辦公室裡工作,也可以根據需要移到較小的隔間或小會議室。到了休息時間,一個儲備充足的廚房區和一個舒適的圖書館正等著員工來使用。

WeWork 為各種規模的公司提供空間解決方案,協助克服他們最艱困的業務挑戰。

Dawn Papandrea 是一位自由寫作者,撰寫內容涵蓋工作、個人理財和高等教育。她的著作曾出現在許多出版物中,包括 Family Circlemonster.com。追蹤她的 Twitter

對工作空間有興趣?與我們取得聯繫。

How four tech companies use real estate to support their businesses

By leveraging flexible space and designing for the employee experience, today’s tech companies take an innovative approach to real estate

The tech world is known for having cool workspaces filled with amenities—but creating an environment that attracts talent, inspires innovation, and engages employees is not simply about building a rock-climbing wall or setting up an espresso bar. The most successful tech offices take a thoughtful approach to what employees need to be focused, productive, and happy at work. 

Technology employees run the gamut from software engineers to product designers. Depending on their job function, employees may need spaces for solving complex problems on their laptops, brainstorming new ideas with teammates, or working with sales and marketing teams who will promote and sell their products and services. As such, their workplace needs to be just as diverse, offering a variety of space types so employees can focus on different tasks throughout the day; features like video-enhanced boardrooms, huddle rooms, mixed-use cafés, and quiet contemplation spaces help tech employees get their work done well. Moreover, the company culture should encourage employees to move around the office to each of those space types.

Slack’s WeWork office in New York.

Beyond that, colorful furnishings and artwork can help inspire new ideas. And a healthy, ergonomic environment with plenty of natural lighting, fresh air, and plant life can keep employees feeling energized. 

In addition, today’s successful tech companies often need to scale up as their businesses demand—and therefore, need a workspace that can grow with them. 

WeWork’s enterprise solutions can be configured to each client’s business, including the unique needs of tech firms. See how leading technology companies, partnering with WeWork, have been able to create the perfect workspace for their growing tech teams.

Slack’s mission-driven workspace 

As a workplace communication tool, Slack is all about enabling companies to be more transparent; the Slack platform facilitates the open flow of information so employees can be more connected and collaborative. So it’s only natural that when Slack needed a New York office, they turned to WeWork to build out an inviting custom space that reflected their mission and culture of openness. 

Slack’s New York space includes lots of flexible seating options so employees can collaborate in formal settings or in smaller meetups. Each individual workspace was ergonomically designed and equipped with the technology team’s need to get their work done well. 

“When I look at the most meaningful and impactful workplaces, I think there’s a deep alignment between tools, culture, and spaces,” says Deano Roberts, Slack’s vice president of global workplace and real estate. “Slack is a collaboration hub where people can come together to do the best work of their lives. And WeWork is a physical manifestation of that.”

Pinterest’s pin-worthy office space

When San Francisco–based Pinterest began growing exponentially and needed to recruit people for sales and engineering positions, they began scouting out Seattle as a new location to find fresh talent. However, salespeople and engineers have different needs and work styles: Sales teams need dedicated places to take calls and host clients, while engineers require areas to brainstorm and whiteboard, plus places to focus. 

Pinterest asked WeWork to take on the challenge of creating a dynamic office where both groups would have what they needed. The result was a new Seattle office with quiet spaces for focused work as well as common areas for hosting events and entertaining clients.

Pinterest’s WeWork office in Seattle.

TripActions’s flexible offices around the world 

As a fast-growing business-travel platform, TripActions needed to scale in different markets around the world and source local talent. Rather than trying to source offices and sign long-term leases in each location, TripActions decided to partner with WeWork. Using WeWork as their single point of contact, TripActions was able to open offices in San Francisco, London, Amsterdam, Sydney, and New York in one year, growing from 40 to 400 employees.

“WeWork gives us that flexibility to grow fast, without having to worry that we’re overpaying for space we don’t need,” says Rich Liu, TripActions’s chief revenue officer.

ezCater’s appetizing new headquarters

ezCater, an online business-catering marketplace, had doubled in size every year since 2012. After growing to 375 employees, ezCater sought a flexible workspace that could accommodate their growth while fostering their strong company culture and ability to attract and retain talent.

The company moved their headquarters to a WeWork space at 40 Water St in Boston, occupying all four floors. The space reflects ezCater’s business, with food art, a vibrant green color scheme, and other food-themed branding throughout the space. Employees are able to work in the open-office setting, or they can move to a small nook or huddle room as needed. When break time rolls around, there’s a fully stocked kitchen area as well as a comfortable library.

WeWork offers companies of all sizes space solutions that help solve their biggest business challenges.

Dawn Papandrea is a freelance writer who covers work, personal finance, and higher education. Her writing has appeared in numerous publications, including Family Circle and monster.com. Follow her on Twitter.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.