活動式工作的基本指南

如今,員工需要更多的靈活性、自主性以及能選擇在何時何地工作的能力。瞭解活動式工作如何幫助員工及僱主

空間是促進參與、激發創新、提高生產力的強大工具。不過,最佳空間到底是什麼樣子呢?在《空間科學》中,我們探討針對性設計科學如何將任何一種工作環境變成整體體驗。

託科技的福,每個人都有專用辦公桌的傳統工作模式正在逐漸消失。取而代之的是:有各種空間類型的工作場所,從像客廳般的休息空間,配有可書寫表面、適合多人腦力激盪的協作區域,到可講私人電話的電話亭。歡迎來到活動式工作場所。

這就是活動式工作 (Activity-based working, ABW)

活動式工作是一種工作方式,讓員工根據當下從事的工作性質選擇不同的設置,結合工作場所體驗,使他們能夠整天都使用這些空間。這個理念是,如果員工有合適的空間完成任務,自然會更有效率。想想看:現今這個時代,從電視節目到食物,音樂到旅行,所有一切都是「按照需求」的。工作空間不也應該如此嗎?要邁向未來的工作方式,工作空間本身應該被視為能夠適應員工需求的有生命的物體。 

ABW 的四個定義要素

ABW 不僅僅是為工作場所增設沙發和電話亭。要讓 ABW 在公司扎根,必須要有四個要素:設計、感官體驗、行為強化和迭代學習。

  1. 設計。 一個 ABW 工作空間的設計是在一個屋簷下有各種空間類型的概念。 需要一個能全神貫注的工作空間?選擇讀書室中的座位,每個人都可以根據自己的需要隨時安靜集中精神。必須在大會議室中舉行客戶會議?立即為您的團隊預訂一間。想在午餐時與團隊協作?將大家聚集在餐廳式隔間中。要和同事通個電話呢?躲進電話亭。無論是什麼活動,我們都有相應的空間類型等著您。

  2. 感官體驗。 ABW 空間需要為員工提供明確和隱含線索,說明如何使用空間。針對他們當下從事的工作類型,無論是需要使用高能量或低能量的空間,員工應該能容易判斷哪些空間是適合他們的。讓我們把 WeWork 廚房區當為一個高能量空間的例子。在您一走進去,就能聞到現煮咖啡的香味,聽到喇叭撥出的音樂聲,並感受到空間內他人的能量感。這些元素吸引人們走近,讓他們覺得受到歡迎,也倒杯咖啡一起和同事聊天。在能量指標的另一端,我們 WeWork 紐約總部的讀書室從您走進的那一刻起就很安靜,為您提供足夠的心理空間,專注於您的下一個標案或設計專案。透過這種方式,不同的環境元素提供了獨特的線索,並作為物理設計的疊加,自然地分享如何以不同方式使用每個空間。

  3. 行為強化。 憑藉最佳的 ABW 設計和感官提示,當人們意識到對空間應有的期望時,空間本身的效果將最佳:在讀書室中保持安靜,使用電話亭打電話,隨身攜帶個人物品以允許其他人也能使用該空間,並感受到其團隊和領導者鼓勵使用適合他們和當下工作的空間。如果員工一離開辦公桌,領導者就會給出臉色,那麼不管有多少免費的咖啡,都無法鼓勵團隊在廚房區開會。 

  4. 迭代學習。 當公司領導者完全 接受思維方式的變化,結合不斷變化的工作場所的設計、行為和編程時,員工將能真正有能力採用 ABW 這樣的新工作方式。當領導者致力於 透過定性和定量資料建立回饋循環,並實施這些調查結果以改善工作空間時,他們將幫助確保 ABW 空間能取得成功。

活動式工作的起源 

雖然 ABW 非常適合我們的依需求文化,但這個概念並非新概念。這一切都正式使於一位美國建築師 Robert Luchetti 在 1983 年共同發明創造名為「活動設置」的概念,適用於各種辦公室工作,如打字或進行會議等。雖然 ABW 當時在美國並不成功,但在如澳大利亞、丹麥、荷蘭和瑞典等國家卻相當盛行。

「活動式工作」一詞是由荷蘭顧問 Erik Veldhoen 新創,收錄於 The Art of Working (Veldhoen + Co.)《工作的藝術》一書中,他同時也撰有 The Demise of the Office《辦公室的終結》一書。在 1990 年代,Veldhoen + Co. 與 Interpolis ─荷蘭最大保險公司之一─合作 ,讓全部辦公室施行活動式工作。在瞭解提供給員工的真正靈活性和自由之後,Interpolis 一頭栽入,勇往直前:他們捨棄了固定式的辦公桌,並鼓勵經理給予員工完全的自主權,讓他們選擇自己的工作時間和地點,以及持續時間。

Interpolis 新工作空間的靈活特性逐漸深入公司的文化中。員工無需上下班打卡或對於要整天在同一個地方坐或站感到有壓力。公司的格言是:「只要能完成工作。」 

「現今最有效的管理風格建立在信任和自治,而不是建立在命令和控制之上。而物理空間可以加強或抵觸這些努力,」我的同事─WeWork 應用研究和文化 OS 的高階主管 Claire Rowell 說道。「舉個例子,如果您的員工對於每天整天要坐或站在同一個地方而感到有壓力,那麼他們可能會開始懷疑『我的雇主是以我的表現,還是我在辦公室的存在感來評價我?』」 

這種工作方式與傳統工作場所截然不同。「傳統」對某些人來說可能是指隔間農場,又或者,可以是指開放式辦公桌 – 但無論如何,它就是「缺乏靈活性」。Rowell 指出:「傳統的辦公室佈局已經失去了意義。」「當公司授權員工能決定在何時、何地以及如何工作時,員工的表現最佳。」

這就是為什麼根據 2018 年 CBRE 美國租戶調查,有 45% 的房地產高管預計會遷移到以員工效率和未來設計靈活性為目標的活動式工作空間。

從傳統移轉到 ABW 需要思維方式上的改變

ABW 激發公司領導者提出了一個問題:「無論職稱和專業知識,人人都需要的是什麼?」然後,他們需要信任並授權他們的員工在他們需要的時候使用他們認為合適的空間。而要做到這這一點,許多公司需要文化上的轉變。

「最大的絆腳石是我們必須讓已熟悉傳統工作文化的人跳脫思維的框架」,AECOM 公司高級副總裁兼全球房地產主管 Luigi Sciabarrasi 說。AECOM 是一家跨國公司,致力於為政府、企業和組織提供設計、構建、財務和營運基礎設施資產的服務。 

讓每個人都參與新的工作方式或任何靈活的工作環境中,需要結合教育、IT 投資和員工的投入。AECOM 使用專案前調查來瞭解員工的工作方式,以及他們需要和不需要哪些工具,以不斷傾聽和改進他們提供的事項。

改變思維方式和空間設計的力量

對於 ABW 來說,轉變觀念是改變的關鍵。因此,適應不斷變化的工作場所的責任主要集中在空間中的人身上。然而,要注意的是,工作場所未來的成功取決於人與空間一起的調整和不斷變化的平衡。而不是將空間視為靜態或是不變的,機會在於將其視為靈活、敏銳和適應力強。

這種心態也與房地產的未來相似。「為什麼要在無法預計三年後員工數的時候,簽一個 15 年的傳統租約呢?」WeWork 全球房地產諮詢主管 John Lewis 問及。「WeWork 正在擁抱靈活性,打破傳統模式。我們將房地產視為一種流動資產,而非固定資產。」

在過去,因為傳統的房地產選擇較多,重點往往放在新工作區的前端設計、樓宇和後勤物流方面。一旦公司簽約並搬入,任何的變化(無論是租賃期還是空間本身的設計)都不容易在較傳統的模型中實現。諷刺的是,要瞭解空間本身的設計和功能如何影響僱員,卻必須要在員工搬入才可能知道。在傳統模式的情況下,若要避免妨礙平常業務,企業可能要等 10 年或甚至 20 年後才能實施設計上的變更。

在房地產體驗設計方面上完全接受和利用改變的能力,有可能重塑公司如何對待其工作場所的核心觀念。換句話來說,我們越接近一個更加以人為本的員工工作場所,同時也有利於公司利潤的增長。這是一個雙贏的局面。

工作的未來是靈活且以人為本的

若應用得當,ABW 將為員工和雇主提供一種能提高工作場所效率和生產力的方法,並展示其靈活性和適應性。現今,人才全球化和移動化成長速度是前所未見的,對於工作場所來說,適應和跟隨趨勢發展非常重要。

對於我們在 WeWork 的團隊來說,ABW 是一個令人振奮的機會。它使我們能夠結合空間、設計和研究的力量,繼續向前邁進,揭示對全球職人來說什麼才是必不可少的要素。現在,我們把這當作是自己的責任,為所有人努力工作,以提供更好的工作環境。

Corinne Murray 是 WeWork 的活動式工作和改變專家,她的工作是開發和測試新概念,為同事和客戶發揮更大的潛力和更好的體驗。有著宗教哲學背景的 Corinne 致力於理解和促進空間、設計、人與文化之間關係的演變。在加入 WeWork 前,Corinne 任職於 GenslerAmerican ExpressCBRE,為人們和系統倡導。

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.

The essential guide to activity-based working

Employees today want more flexibility, autonomy, and the ability to choose when and where they work. Learn how activity-based working can help employees and employers

Space is a powerful tool to foster engagement, inspire innovation, and drive productivity. But what exactly does an optimal space look like? In the Science of Space, we explore how the science of intentional design can turn any work environment into a holistic experience.

Thanks to technology, the traditional working model, in which everyone has an assigned desk, has been steadily eroding. In its place: workplaces that have a variety of space types, ranging from lounges that resemble living rooms to collaboration areas with writable surfaces for brainstorming, to phone booths for private calls. Welcome to activity-based working.

Activity-based working (ABW), defined

Activity-based working is a work style that allows employees to choose from a variety of settings according to the nature of what they are doing, combined with a workplace experience that empowers them to use those spaces throughout the day. The idea is that employees will be more productive when they have the right spaces for the tasks they need to accomplish. Think about it: Today, everything is “on-demand,” from TV shows to food, music to travel. Shouldn’t workspaces be as well? To step into the future of work, workspaces themselves should be treated like living, breathing organisms that adapt to accommodate employees’ needs. 

The four defining elements of ABW

ABW isn’t just about adding couches and phone booths to a workplace. For ABW to exist in a company, four elements must be present: design, sensory experience, behavioral reinforcement, and iterative learning.

  1. Design. An ABW workspace is designed with a variety of space types under one roof.  Need a space for heads-down work? Take a desk in the study, where everyone can go to focus in silence as frequently as they need or want. Have to host a client meeting in a large conference room? Book one for your group instantly. Want to collaborate with a team over lunch? Gather them in a restaurant-style booth. How about a quick call with a colleague? Duck into a phone booth. Whatever the activity, there’s a corresponding space type, ready and waiting.

  2. Sensory experience. ABW spaces need to provide employees with explicit and implicit cues about how to use a space. Whether they need to access high- or low-energy space for the type of work they’re doing, employees should be able to easily gauge which space is right for them in the moment. Let’s take the kitchen area at WeWork as an example of a high-energy space. Upon walking in, you smell freshly brewed coffee, hear music playing over the speakers, and feel the energy of others in the space. These elements draw people in and make them feel welcome to pour a cup of coffee and chat with colleagues. On the other end of the energy spectrum, the study in our WeWork New York headquarters is quiet from the moment you walk in, providing you with enough mental space to focus on your next pitch deck or design project. In this way, different environmental elements provide unique cues and act as an overlay on the physical design, inherently sharing how to use each space differently.

  3. Behavioral reinforcement. With optimal ABW design and sensory cues, the space itself works best when people are aware of its expectations: Being quiet in the study, using phone booths for calls, bringing personal belongings with them to allow others use of a space, and feeling empowered by their teams and people leaders to use the space as it suits them and the work at hand. No amount of free coffee will encourage a team to have a meeting in the kitchen if their leaders frown on them being away from their desks. 

  4. Iterative learning. Employees are truly empowered to  adopt a new work style such as ABW when company leaders fully embrace the change in mindset, combined with the design, behaviors, and programming of an ever-evolving workplace. When leaders are committed to  creating a feedback loop through qualitative and quantitative data, and implementing those findings to improve the workspace, they’re helping to ensure their ABW space will be a success.

The origin of activity-based work 

While ABW is a natural fit with our on-demand culture, the concept is not exactly new. It all officially started with Robert Luchetti, an American architect who, by 1983, had co-invented the idea of creating “activity settings” for a variety of office tasks, such as typing or conducting meetings. While ABW didn’t quite take off in America at the time, countries like Australia, Denmark, the Netherlands, and Sweden adopted it more readily.

The term “activity-based working” was coined in The Art of Working by Dutch consultant Erik Veldhoen (Veldhoen + Co.), who also wrote, The Demise of the Office. In the 1990s, Veldhoen + Co. partnered with Interpolis, one of the biggest insurance companies in the Netherlands, to implement activity-based working throughout their offices. After understanding the true flexibility and freedom it afforded their employees, Interpolis leaned all the way in: They got rid of fixed desks and encouraged managers to give employees complete autonomy to choose when and where they worked, and for how long.

The flexible nature of the new Interpolis workspace permeated the company’s culture. Employees didn’t have to clock in and out or feel pressure to sit or stand in one place all day. The motto of the company: “As long as the work gets done.” 

“Today’s most effective management styles are built on trust and autonomy rather than on command and control. Physical space, then, can reinforce or contradict these efforts,” says my colleague Claire Rowell, senior lead of applied research and cultureOS at WeWork. “For example, if your employees feel pressure to sit or stand in one location all day, every day, they may start to wonder, “Does my employer value me based on my performance or my presence in the office?” 

This way of working is very different from a traditional workplace. “Traditional” could mean cube-farm to some; to others, it could mean open-plan desks—but in any case, it means “inflexibility.” “The traditional office layout no longer makes sense,” says Rowell. “Employees perform at their best when companies empower them to work when, where, and how they want to.”

This is why 45 percent of real estate executives anticipate migrating to an activity-based workspace curated for employee effectiveness and future design flexibility, according to the CBRE Americas Occupier Survey 2018.

Going from traditional to ABW requires a change in mindset

ABW challenges company leaders to ask: “What do people, regardless of their job title and expertise, need?” Then, they need to trust and empower their employees to use whichever spaces they see fit for as long as they need. To get to that point, many companies need to make a cultural shift.

“The biggest stumbling block we have is getting people out of the mindset of the traditional work culture they’ve experienced in the past,” says Luigi Sciabarrasi, senior vice president and global real estate lead at AECOM, a multinational firm that designs, builds, finances, and operates infrastructure assets for governments, businesses, and organizations. 

Getting everyone on board with a new work style, or any flexible work environment, requires a combination of education, IT investment, and employee input. AECOM uses pre-project surveys to find out how employees work and which tools they need and don’t have in order to continually listen and improve their offerings.

The power of changing mindset and spatial design together

With ABW, shifting mindsets is a crucial part of change. As such, responsibility for adapting to a changing workplace has been placed mainly on the people within the space itself. However, it’s important to note that success in the workplace of the future hinges on a balance of people and space adapting and evolving together. Rather than seeing space as static, or unchanging, the opportunity lies in seeing it as flexible, nimble, and adaptable.

This mindset also parallels the future of real estate. “Why take on a 15-year traditional lease when head count is rarely planned for more than three years out?” asks John Lewis, head of global real estate advisory at WeWork. “By embracing agility, WeWork is disrupting the traditional model. We’re looking at real estate as a liquid, not a static, asset.”

In the past, with more traditional real estate options, the emphasis was often on the front-end of designing, building, and logistics of a new workspace. Once a company actually signs on the dotted line and moves in, any changes (whether it was the lease term or the design of the space itself) are not easy to implement in a more traditional model. Ironically, it was only possible to understand how the design and functionality of the space itself was affecting employees after they’d fully settled in. With a traditional model, it could be upward of 10, even 20 years before design changes can be fully enacted without hindering business as usual.

The ability to fully embrace and leverage change on both a real estate and experience design level has the potential to restructure the very core of how companies approach their workplaces. In other words, we’re getting closer and closer to a more human-centric workplace for employees while simultaneously benefiting the company’s bottom line. It’s a win-win.

The future of work is flexible and people-centric

Applied correctly, ABW offers a way for employees and employers to improve efficiency and productivity in the workplace, and show how flexible and adaptable it can be. Talent is becoming more global and mobile than ever, and it’s important for the workplace to adapt and grow with the trend.

ABW is an exciting opportunity for our teams here at WeWork. It allows us to combine the powers of space, design, and research to continue pushing forward to uncover deeper truths about what is essential for people in workplaces around the world. We’re making it our responsibility, now, to get to the work of making work better for everyone.

Corinne Murray is the activity-based working and change expert at WeWork, where she develops and tests new concepts that unlock greater potential and better experience for her colleagues and clients. With a background in religious philosophy, Corinne is committed to understanding and facilitating the evolution of the relationship between space, design, people, and culture. Prior to WeWork, Corinne helped advocate for people and systems for Gensler, American Express, and CBRE.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.