九幅表现本土文化的 WeWork 艺术品

除了为室内带来装点,这九幅艺术品还营造了与周边环境的亲密感

空间是促进参与、激发创新、提高生产力的有力工具。但是,最佳空间到底是什么样的呢? 在《空间科学》中,我们将探讨目标设计学如何将工作环境打造成一体化体验空间。

无论走进全球任何一处 WeWork 办公空间,您都能在墙壁上看到色彩鲜艳的装饰。仔细观察,您可能会想:墙上画的是拐角小商店卖的咖啡杯吗? 

很有可能。WeWork 空间中的各式艺术作品,无论是壁画、绘画还是霓虹灯标志,都是从当地汲取灵感并专门为特定空间设计的。所有作品都会向这一办公空间的原始功能、街区或是办公室周围环境的自然元素致敬。 

这是因为本地化,或者说是与当地社区建立联系是 WeWork 的核心价值之一。在我们开放一处空间之前,我们的地面团队会对每一处地点的文化进行深入调查,并详细记录他们的发现,例如人们经常去的本地餐馆,当地人才知道的关于地铁的笑话,或是人们选择的通勤方式。 

Jeremiah Britton 是 WeWork 的全球艺术总监,他告诉我们:“我们寻找的都是特别具有当地气息的事物,你必须生活在当地才能理解。”“当我们进入新的社区时,我们希望自己看起来就是这个社区的一部分,而不是将我们的想法强加于社区。”  

艺术是本土化中不可缺少的一环。WeWork 的内部艺术团队经常会在传统图像或图案的基础上稍加变化,让其成为全新而富有趣味的现代艺术作品。这不仅可以激发创造力并促进创新,而且让人们在空间内可以感到更振奋。 

对于绝大部分人来说,清醒的时间主要都是用来工作,因此有一点非常重要:让他们坐在桌子前,抬头就可以看到令人心情愉悦,而不是倍感压力的艺术作品。我们从作品的形式到色彩,都要有助于实现这一目标。以下是一些范例,让您可以了解全球 WeWork 办公空间的艺术作品是如何反应当地文化的。 

墨西哥城的动植物绘画

WeWork Reforma 26 的公用区中有一面壁画墙,它以当地植物为特色,包括仙人掌和墨西哥睡莲。这幅壁画对传统植物进行了全新的多彩诠释,将日常所见的黄色花卉画成淡粉色;而绿色的仙人掌则披上了桃红色和蓝色。 

霓虹灯是 WeWork 办公空间中的标配。一只霓虹灯勾勒出的小动物竖着长长的耳朵,在 WeWork Reforma Latino 俯瞰着公共空间。这是用灯光对墨西哥“阿莱布里赫”(一种色彩鲜艳的小型神物)的诠释。它身上融合了各种其他动物的特征,在墨西哥民间艺术中非常流行。 

佛罗里达州迈阿密的特色定制 

WeWork 与当地社区建立联系的一个很重要的途径就是与本土艺术家合作。以这幅位于 WeWork 2222 Ponce De Leon Blvd 的老虎作品为例,它就是由当地壁画画家 Boy Kong 以动物民间传说为灵感创作的。 

日本东京突发奇想的日式盆栽

在浅浅的花盆中种植小型植物的艺术称为日式盆栽。在 WeWork Tokyo Square Garden中,这幅壁画以异常大的尺寸描绘了传统的盆栽。艺术家选用了能使人心情平静的色调而非自然的绿色,将这盆大型日式盆栽展示在开放办公空间中。 

波兰华沙的山麓风景图

这幅色彩亮丽的绘画点亮了 WeWork Hotel Europejski 的公共空间。受传统民间艺术启发,这幅大型作品描绘了波兰南部的塔特拉山脉。 

加利福尼亚州米尔谷的赤杉

这幅大型作品展示在 WeWork 1 Belvedere Dr 的会议室内,向湾区原生的参天赤杉致敬。 

加利福尼亚州旧金山的科技大爆炸

在 WeWork 位于 Salesforce Tower 的办公室中,一副描绘火山喷发的绘画喻指这座城市中的科技大爆炸。与 WeWork 其他办公空间的艺术作品相似,这幅绘画也选用了富有趣味的色彩,让空间充满活力。 

印度班加罗尔的候鸟

班加罗尔拥有丰富的植物和动物品种,众多湖泊栖息着大量候鸟,WeWork Prestige Central 的这幅壁是向此致敬;而精心修葺的花园则是向印度古代花园致敬。壁画采用圆角拱顶并配有装饰图案,其造型灵感则来自于传统印度绘画流派。 

中国上海的传统狮子

在 WeWork 南京西路 819 号,一只“石狮子”独霸一方。在中国传统建筑中,大门前都会放上两尊石狮,意在保护建築免遭恶灵侵害。其中雄性狮子通常将爪子放在球上。这尊雕像对此传统进行了多彩的诠释。 

艺术具有让空间升华和连结当地的力量。WeWork 通常会选用色彩明亮丰富而颇具趣味的艺术品,来满足不同空间的多种需求。通过出其不意而又古灵精怪的方式,我们将周围环境中的一部分带入到空间内,使得艺术作品将工作场地与办公室外更广阔的城市相连接。 

艺术作品的最终目的是让员工平复思绪,获得灵感。在精心设计的环境中,员工在优雅的办公空间办公倍感舒适,这将有助于他们充分发挥自己的工作能力。

WeWork 为各种规模的公司提供空间解决方案,帮助攻克最艰巨的业务挑战。

对办公空间感兴趣?和我们取得联系。

How artwork in WeWork locations showcases local culture

Beyond functioning as beautiful decor, these nine works of art create a sense of connection to the local community

Space is a powerful tool to foster engagement, inspire innovation, and drive productivity. But what exactly does an optimal space look like? In the Science of Space, we explore how the science of intentional design can turn any work environment into a holistic experience.

Walk into a WeWork location anywhere in the world and you’ll find splashes of brilliant color adorning the walls. Look a little closer and you might wonder: Is that painting of a coffee cup from the bodega around the corner? 

It very likely is. The artwork in WeWork spaces, from murals to paintings to neon signs, is all distinctly made for a specific space and inspired by its location. The pieces pay homage to everything from the original function of the building, the neighborhood, or the natural elements of the region surrounding the office. 

That’s because localization, or the process of connecting with a local community, is one of WeWork’s key values. Before we open a space, our on-the-ground teams conduct deep-dive research on the culture of each location. They take notes if there is, for example, a neighborhood restaurant that people frequent, or an inside joke about the subway, or whatever mode of transport people take to get to the office. 

“We look for things that are so local that you have to be from the local area to understand it,” says Jeremiah Britton, global art director at WeWork. “When we go into a new neighborhood, we want it to feel like we’re authentically a part of a community as opposed to feeling like we’re forcing our ideas onto it.”  

Art is integral to that localization. WeWork’s in-house art team will often utilize traditional imagery or patterns but with a slight twist to make a piece of art feel fresh, modern, and playful. That, in turn, sparks creativity and fosters innovation in addition to making a space feel more uplifting

Since the vast majority of a person’s waking hours are spent at work, it’s important that the art they see when they look up from their desks makes them feel happy rather than stressed. Everything from the form of the work to the color helps do this. Here are some examples of how art in WeWork locations around the world reflect the local culture. 

Flora and fauna in Mexico City, Mexico

A mural in WeWork Reforma 26 overlooks a common area. It features local plants, including cacti and Mexican water lilies. The piece offers a colorful twist on traditional depictions of the plants, rendering the usually yellow flower in a pastel pink and green cacti in hot pink and blue. 

Neon is a staple in WeWork workspaces. A neon creature with elongated ears overlooks a common space in WeWork Reforma Latino. It’s a lighted interpretation of a Mexican alebrije, or a small, colorful, mystical animal. Popular in Mexican folk art, alebrijes are made up of a mix of parts from other animals. 

A local commission in Miami, FL 

One important way WeWork connects with local communities is by collaborating with local artists. This tiger painting, for example, in WeWork 2222 Ponce De Leon Blvd, was created by local painter and muralist Boy Kong, who is inspired by animal folklore. 

A whimsical bonsai in Tokyo, Japan

Bonsai is the Japanese art of growing small plants in shallow pots. In WeWork Tokyo Square Garden, a traditional bonsai tree is depicted in larger-than-life terms. Rendered in calming tones rather than its natural green, this giant bonsai tree is hung over an open workspace. 

A scenic mountain range in Warsaw, Poland

This colorful painting brightens up a communal workspace in WeWork Hotel Europejski. Inspired by traditional folk art, this large piece depicts the Tatra Mountains in the south of Poland. 

Redwood trees in Mill Valley, CA

Inside a conference room in WeWork 1 Belvedere Dr, a large painting pays homage to the towering redwood trees native to the Bay Area. 

A tech explosion in San Francisco, CA

In WeWork’s offices in the Salesforce Tower, a vibrant painting depicting a volcano is a reference to the explosion of the tech scene in the city. Like many works of art in WeWork locations, it uses color in a playful way to enliven the space. 

Migratory birds in Bengaluru, India

A mural in WeWork Prestige Central in Bengaluru pays homage to the rich flora and fauna of the city, which sees many migratory birds around its numerous lakes. The topiary garden is a nod to ancient gardens in India. The shape of the mural, with its rounded arches and decorative motif, is inspired by traditional Indian schools of painting. 

A traditional lion in Shanghai, China

In WeWork 819 Nanjing Xi Lu, a guardian lion occupies a corner. Lions are traditionally employed in Chinese architecture in front of doorways to guard buildings from evil spirits; male lions are usually shown with their paw on a ball. This sculpture gives a colorful update to that tradition. 

Art has the power to elevate a space as well as ground it. Always playful, bright, and colorful, art in WeWork spaces serves many purposes. It acts to connect the workspace to the larger city outside the office by bringing pieces of the environment into the space in unexpected and quirky ways. 

Ultimately, art is utilized to help employees feel calm and inspired. With purpose-built environments, employees can feel comfortable in a beautiful workspace, which in turn makes it easier for them to do their best work.

WeWork offers companies of all sizes space solutions that help solve their biggest business challenges.

These high-design staircases aren’t just beautiful—they also promote workplace connections and camaraderie

Rainbow pastries, parade marchers, and a thoughtfully-designed parade float were just some of the ways WeWork celebrated being our most-authentic selves

WeWork is helping the world’s largest companies attract talent, innovate better, and perform with more agility