成功人士的清晨习惯

以相同的方式开启每一天可能会是成功的关键,让我们带您了解近藤麻理恵、奥普拉·温弗里和巴拉克·奥巴马的清晨时光。

对清晨几个小时的利用方式能够为接下来的一天定下基调。每个人的习惯能提升效率,因为习惯会省去做决定这一步骤,节省时间和精力。全球最受尊敬、最有创意的成功人士中就有一部分坚持贯彻自己的晨间习惯,以确保每一天都尽量高效并且成果丰硕。如果您早上经常会按掉闹钟,那么不妨看看下列的习惯中有没有值得学习的地方,帮助您养成更良好的习惯。 

Five morning routines to set your day up for success

1. 营造仪式感

点燃蜡烛,拥抱伴侣,清洁脸部……无论您在早上做什么,让其成为一种仪式,为您标记崭新一天的开始。美国舞蹈家 Twyla Tharp 就深信仪式感带来的创造力和责任感。在著作《创造是一种习惯》中她就写道了自己的晨间习惯:清晨 5:30 起床,换上运动服,然后打车去健身房。

“对我而言,在健身房进行拉伸和力量训练并不是我的仪式,打车才是。在告诉司机目的地的那一刻,我就完成了自己的仪式。”她在书中这样说。“这是很小的一个举动,但是每天早晨都做这件事,它就成了我的习惯。所以习惯应该是可以反复做,并且容易做的事。这样就会减少偷懒放弃,或者是以其他方式执行的可能性。我的习惯因此多了一项,而要思考的事便少了一项。”

《怦然心动人生整理魔法》的作者近藤麻理恵同样拥有自己的仪式。“早上起床后,我会打开所有窗户,让屋子里换换气,然后点上熏香”,她在自己的博客中写道。“我努力让家里保持舒适,并且全天充满能量。所以在早上保持这些仪式可以让我的一天都井井有条。”

2. Clear your head

在清晨适当冥想大有裨益。冥想可以帮助您调节焦虑情绪和压力,同时还能增强自我意识和专注力。毫无疑问,许多领袖型人物都将冥想纳入到了自己的晨间习惯中。Away 的联合创始人 Jen Rubio 就会在每天开始运动前,以冥想开启新的一天阿里安娜·赫芬顿Thrive Global 办公室就在纽约市的 WeWork 空间打造的总部中。她每天早晨都会专门在查看邮件或是开始工作前冥想 20 – 30 分钟。Twitter 的 CEO 杰克·多西在他 6 英里长跑之前,也会冥想 30 分钟。 

3. Sweat

《时尚》杂志主编安娜·温特每天清晨会先打一小时网球比赛,这是很明智的一个选择。布里斯托大学的一项研究表明,相比不参加运动的人,每天都运动的人更有可能精力更充沛同时状态更好。将运动加入到晨间习惯中,让您一整天都可以保持头脑清醒。运动心理学家 Jasmin Theard 说:“运动会带来神经递质的分泌,从而促进头脑保持清醒并改善专注力。”“您不仅会充满成就感,同时还会焕发青春和活力。”

美国前总统巴拉克·奥巴马在任职期间一直坚持将运动放在他的总统日程当中,在前往椭圆形办公室前,他会练习举重和有氧运动。 

Ariel Investments 的总裁 Mellody Hobson 会在清晨安排各式各样的运动,其中包括跑步、举重、游泳、骑车等,并在运动完洗澡。“洗澡是我非常重要的私人时间”,她这样告诉 CNBC。“我每天早上洗澡,并利用洗澡的时间放松。当我在芝加哥寒冷的天气中跑步时,我会在回程跑得更快,边跑边想洗澡。”

4. Practice gratitude

看到这一条您可能会感到意外,但是对近藤麻理恵来说,当她在家里点上熏香后,并不会开始进行细致的整理收纳,相反,她会感恩。“我为家人和团队成员的健康表达感恩,并重申决心当天做尽可能多的事”,她这样写道。表达完感恩后,她才会列出当日待办事项。 

奥普拉的晨间习惯同样包含感恩。《时尚芭莎》告诉我们,在刷牙和遛狗后,她会从自己的“365真理集”小盒子中阅读 5 张卡片。这个小盒子是她的 2014 年“最喜爱物品”之一,分享了各种富有启发意义的智慧。奥普拉告诉《芭莎》:“这是我美好一天的开始。”这个小盒子会告诉我们什么呢?比如说:“财富不是由金钱决定的,决定财富的是我们带来的爱、享受的欢笑、分享的食物、经历的梦想和创造的希望”。

5. Rise with the sun (or even before it)

一项 2008 年发表在《The Journal of General Psychology》的研究指出,晚起的夜猫子比早起者更容易拖延。这也就很好理解为什么那些著名的成功人士都是早起者,例如苹果公司 CEO 蒂姆·库克凌晨 3:45 就起床开始回邮件,然后在 5 点去健身房。维珍集团的创始人和主席理查德·布兰森的起床时间也令人惊讶。他会在清晨 5 点起床,然后进行锻炼并与家人共度时光。 

“我始终保持早起”,他在维珍的博客上这样写道。“我从自己过去 50 年的工作经历中认识到,如果早起,我就可以在一天中做更多的事,我认为人生也是如此。”Branson 还认为“那个时候很安静,仿佛时间还没有开始运转,是了解新闻时事和回复邮件的好时候。这些清晨的时光让我的一天拥有崭新并且规划良好的开端。”

Kate BratskeirWeWorkIdeas by We 的作者,专注于可持续发展和职场心理学。在此前曾担任《Mic and HuffPost》的高级主编,文章作品曾刊登于《纽约》杂志“Health”网站《旅游休闲》杂志、《健康女性》等杂志。

分类标签
个人成长
对办公空间感兴趣?和我们取得联系。

The morning routines of successful people

Starting each day the same way might be the key to success; here’s how Marie Kondo, Oprah, and Barack Obama do mornings

How you spend the first few hours of your morning can set the tone for the rest of your day. Routines inevitably lead to efficiency, since they remove the decision-making step, saving you time and energy. Some of the world’s most admired, creative, and successful people rely on their own morning routines to ensure their days are as productive and fruitful as can be. If you resist your morning wake-up call and hit snooze, you might take a tip or two from the routines below to create a better habit. 

Five morning routines to set your day up for success

1. Commit to a ritual

Light a candle, hug your partner, wash your face—whatever you do in the morning, make it a ritual that marks the start of a new day and a fresh start. American dancer Twyla Tharp is a big believer in rituals for both creativity and accountability. In her book, The Creative Habit, she writes about her morning routine, which consists of waking up at 5:30 a.m., dressing for her workout, and then hailing a cab to take her to the gym.

“The ritual is not the stretching and weight training I put my body through each morning at the gym; the ritual is the cab. The moment I tell the driver where to go I have completed the ritual,” Tharp writes. “It’s a simple act, but doing it the same way each morning habitualizes it—makes it repeatable, easy to do. It reduces the chance that I would skip it or do it differently. It is one more item in my arsenal of routines, and one less thing to think about.”

Marie Kondo, author of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, also has her own ritual. “When I get up, I open all the windows to let fresh air in and then burn incense,” she writes on her blog. “I strive to keep my home comfortable and filled with clear energy throughout the day, so starting my morning with these rituals keeps me on track.”

2. Clear your head

There are plenty of reasons to incorporate meditation into your morning: The practice can help control anxiety and stress, and it can also boost self-awareness and the ability to concentrate. It’s no wonder so many leaders have incorporated the art of mindfulness into their days. Jen Rubio, cofounder of Away, starts her day with meditation before she does a workout. Arianna Huffington, whose Thrive Global office is located in a headquarters by WeWork space in New York City, practices 20 to 30 minutes of mindfulness in the morning, and she does it deliberately before checking email or touching technology. And before his six-mile run, Twitter’s Jack Dorsey takes 30 minutes to meditate. 

3. Sweat

Vogue’s editor in chief Anna Wintour starts her morning with an hour-long tennis match, and it’s a very smart move. A study from the University of Bristol found that daily exercisers were more likely to have more energy and a more positive outlook compared to those who didn’t participate in a sweat session. Building exercise into your morning can earn you mental clarity that lasts throughout the day. “Exercise leads to the secretion of neurotransmitters that promote mental clarity and an improved attention span,” says exercise psychologist Jasmin Theard. “You’ll feel a sense of accomplishment as well as rejuvenated and recharged.”

President Barack Obama made exercise part of his presidential schedule when he was in the White House, lifting weights and doing cardio way before he made his way into the Oval Office. 

Mellody Hobson, president of Ariel Investments, incorporates all kinds of movement into her mornings. Her exercise may include running, weight lifting, swimming, or cycling, and is always followed by a bath. “My bath time is essential personal time,” she tells CNBC. “I take a bath every morning, and use the time to decompress and relax. When I’m running outside on cold days in Chicago, I run faster on the return leg, thinking about my bath.”

4. Practice gratitude

This may come as a surprise, but after she burns incense in her home, Marie Kondo doesn’t get into a meticulous folding session. Instead, she practices gratitude. “I say a prayer of thanksgiving for my family and team members’ health, and I renew my resolve to do as much as I can that day,” she writes. Writing out her daily to-do’s only comes after this practice. 

Oprah’s morning routine also involves appreciation. After brushing her teeth and walking her dogs, she reads five cards from her 365 Gathered Truths box, according to Harper’s Bazaar. An item on her 2014 “Favorite Things” list, this box shares pieces of wisdom meant to inspire. “It’s a beautiful way to start the day,” Oprah told Bazaar. An example of a message you might pluck from the box? “Wealth is not measured by dollars and cents, but by the love we make, the laughter we enjoy, the meals we share, the dreams we experience, and the hopes we create.”

5. Rise with the sun (or even before it)

A 2008 study published in The Journal of General Psychology found that early risers tend to procrastinate less than night owls with a later alarm clock. It makes sense then that many successful people throughout history have identified as early birds: Apple CEO Tim Cook, for example, emerges from underneath the covers at 3:45 a.m. to go through email before his five o’clock appointment with the gym. Virgin Group founder and chairperson Richard Branson rises at a bit less of an ungodly hour—around 5 a.m.—to exercise and spend some time with his family. 

“I have always been an early riser,” he writes on a Virgin blog. “Over my 50 years in business I have learned that if I rise early, I can achieve so much more in a day, and therefore in life.” Branson adds, “I find the period of quiet, before most of the world logs on, to be a great time to catch up on news and reply to emails. These early hours give me the opportunity to start each day with a fresh and organized slate.”

Kate Bratskeir is a writer for WeWork’sIdeas by We, focusing on sustainability and workplace psychology. Previously, she was a senior editor at Mic and HuffPost. Her work has appeared in New York, Health, Travel & Leisure,Women’s Health, and more.

FILED UNDER
PERSONAL GROWTH
Interested in workspace? Get in touch.