Cinq manières dont les grandes entreprises tirent profit de l’immobilier agile de WeWork

Du siège de l'entreprise aux espaces d'innovation, voici comment l'immobilier agile permet aux entreprises d'atteindre leurs objectifs commerciaux

Les entreprises ne sont pas toutes constituées de la même manière. Il existe de nombreuses différences entre un géant mondial de la technologie et une banque d’investissement, un détaillant haut de gamme et un constructeur automobile. Mais toutes les entreprises peuvent tirer profit d’une plus grande souplesse. 

La capacité de travailler rapidement, de s’adapter et de relever les défis au fur et à mesure qu’ils apparaissent peut être le plus grand atout d’une entreprise. L’agilité signifie accéder à la clientèle sur des marchés nouveaux en donnant aux futurs employés la possibilité de travailler sur des projets révolutionnaires, en investissant dans les technologies les plus récentes et en créant une nouvelle offre de produits qui réponde à la demande du marché. Il n’est pas surprenant que 70 % des organisations agiles se situent dans le quartile supérieur en matière de santé organisationnelle —le meilleur indicateur de performance positive à long terme, selon McKinsey.

L’immobilier peut aussi être agile en permettant aux entreprises d’adapter leur portefeuille à la santé et à la croissance de leur entreprise, tout en réduisant les investissements initiaux et les risques. 

Aujourd’hui, plus du tiers des entreprises du classement Fortune 500 utilisent les solutions d’immobilier agile de WeWork pour atteindre leurs objectifs commerciaux. Découvrez comment.

1. Siège de la société : Oscar Health

Une croissance rapide avait permis à l’assureur axé sur la technologie Oscar Health de se développer avec succès, mais en 2018, son siège à New York ne pouvait plus accueillir tous ses employés. En guise de solution, Oscar Health a demandé à WeWork d’imaginer, concevoir et créer un nouvel espace. 

En mai 2019, Oscar a transféré plus de 500 employés dans son nouveau siège situé à One Hudson Square, dans le centre de Manhattan. Le bureau reflète sa marque et englobe toutes les caractéristiques de sa liste de souhaits : le plan d’étage ouvert comprend toutes sortes d’espaces de travail fonctionnels, allant des cabines individuelles à des salons ouverts, pour appuyer différents styles de travail.

En établissant un partenariat avec WeWork, Oscar a pu gagner du temps et de l’argent. « Travailler avec WeWork pour réaliser des économies d’argent, gagner du temps et rationaliser l’ensemble du processus a été une victoire sur tous les plans », déclare Charlie Mirisola, responsable des opérations relatives au lieu de travail chez Oscar.

2. Siège régional : Slack

Slack, l’outil de communication du lieu de travail, fournit une plate-forme numérique pour la libre circulation des informations pertinentes entre les employés. L’entreprise a son siège au cœur de San Francisco et des bureaux dans 10 villes du monde entier, de Vancouver à Tokyo. Pourtant, Slack veille à ce que chacun de ces bureaux régionaux réponde à ses exigences spécifiques et se sente comme une extension du siège.

Lors de l’évaluation de partenaires immobiliers pour étendre davantage sa présence, Slack a uniquement pris en compte ceux dont les valeurs et l’approche correspondaient aux siennes. L’entreprise recherchait également des solutions immobilières flexibles qui ne mobiliseraient pas ses fonds dans un bail traditionnel de 10 à 15 ans. 

« Pour n’importe quelle entreprise, les dépenses en capital sont de l’argent qui n’a pas été investi dans la recherche et le développement, ni dans le marketing, ni dans les effectifs », déclare Deano Roberts, vice-président pour les espaces de travail et l’immobilier au niveau mondial de Slack.

C’est pourquoi, au moment de créer un siège régional à New York, Slack s’est tourné vers WeWork.

L’équipe de Slack à New York travaille maintenant dans un espace privé et personnalisé de WeWork situé dans un quartier de choix. L’espace de travail est chaleureux, accueillant et doté de la marque et des graphismes personnalisés de Slack. 

« Lorsque je regarde les lieux de travail les plus constructifs et les plus remarquables, je pense qu’il existe un profond alignement entre les outils, la culture et les espaces », affirme M. Roberts. « Slack est un pôle de collaboration où les gens peuvent se retrouver pour mieux accomplir leur travail. Et WeWork en est la concrétisation physique ».

3. Pôle d’innovation : Standard Chartered

En 2018, Standard Chartered, une société multinationale de services financiers, a lancé SC Ventures. Cette entité commerciale a été créée dans le but de stimuler l’innovation numérique, d’investir dans les startups et les technologies financières, et de piloter de nouveaux modèles commerciaux—avec pour objectif d’améliorer l’expérience bancaire des clients. La société disposait d’un espace au neuvième étage de sa tour Standard Chartered Tower à Hong Kong, mais elle avait besoin d’ une rénovation complète pour inciter l’équipe de SC Ventures à effectuer un travail de pointe.

Standard Chartered a décidé d’établir un partenariat avec WeWork pour transformer cet étage en un espace de travail collaboratif, propice à l’innovation, appelé le « laboratoire eXellerator ». 

Dr Michael Gorriz, responsable principal de l’information chez Standard Chartered, explique que « le mot eXellerator est une contraction des mots accélération (du changement) et excellence (du service client) ». Le laboratoire eXellerator comprend des salles de travail flexibles, différents types de salles de réunion, et même un grand salon pour organiser un vaste gamme d’événements et d’ateliers au quotidien. 

« Le laboratoire eXellerator de Hong Kong nous permet de réunir des idées, des compétences, et surtout des personnes, qu’il s’agisse de clients, d’entrepreneurs spécialisés dans la technologie financière ou de collègues de la banque, pour favoriser l’innovation », déclare Alex Manson, responsable mondial de SC Ventures, Standard Chartered.

4. Espace d’atterrissage pour les équipes en déplacement : Microsoft

L’équipe commerciale basée à New York de Microsoft travaillait depuis le siège de la société : un établissement WeWork à Times Square. Chaque jour, des centaines de membres de l’équipe se déplaçaient dans la région de New York pour des réunions sur les ventes. Tous ces déplacements leur faisaient perdre de précieuses heures de travail alors qu’ils faisaient le va-et-vient entre les réunions et leur siège.

WeWork a proposé une solution : l’accès WeWork, qui donnerait à 300 employés la possibilité de travailler depuis n’importe quel établissement WeWork à Manhattan, Brooklyn et dans le Queens

« Nous avons commencé à penser aux avantages pour nos équipes, à ce qui nous motive en tant qu’entreprise », indique Matt Donovan, directeur général chez Microsoft.

La possibilité de travailler depuis n’importe quel établissement WeWork a complètement transformé l’expérience des employés du géant de la technologie. En effet, 92 % des employés de Microsoft interrogés étaient satisfaits des établissements WeWork qu’ils ont visités. 84 % pensent que l’accès aux établissements WeWork les rend plus productifs . Et 74 % affirment que l’accès WeWork leur permet de se rapprocher des clients.

5. Opportunités de développement de l’activité : Banque Royale du Canada

RBC à WeWork 1 University ave à Toronto. Photo par The We Company.

Tout en tirant profit des établissements WeWork pour développer rapidement des équipes de projet agiles dans de grandes villes à travers le monde, la Banque Royale du Canada (RBC) a saisi l’opportunité d’utiliser pleinement ces actifs : une communauté WeWork de plus de 400 000 membres—allant d’entrepreneurs à de grandes entreprises internationales—qui pourraient tous bénéficier de l’expertise financière et commerciale de RBC.

En septembre 2017, la RBC a lancé des centres de conseil dans ses établissements WeWork à Toronto et à Montréal. Depuis ces centres, les employés de RBC pouvaient fournir un soutien aux membres de WeWork, qu’ils aient besoin d’aide pour faire une demande de prêt, optimiser leur structure financière ou augmenter leur effectif.

Ce partenariat a été gagnant-gagnant. Les membres de WeWork bénéficient gratuitement de précieux conseils financiers, et en travaillant aux côtés de leurs clients, les employés de RBC « comprennent mieux les besoins commerciaux et financiers de nos clients », se réjouit Niranjan Vivekanandan, vice-président, stratégie, services bancaires commerciaux à la RBC.

Pour toutes ces raisons et d’autres, les solutions d’immobilier agile de WeWork peuvent vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs commerciaux. Voyons comment nous pouvons construire l’avenir du travail, ensemble.

Marnie Williams est responsable du marketing de contenu au niveau mondial chez WeWork. Elle écrit sur l’intersection entre activités commerciales et immobilier. Auparavant, elle a créé un éditorial et une vidéo axés sur les données chez Oracle.

CLASSÉS SOUS
ENTREPRISE FLEXIBILITé
Interested in workspace? Get in touch.

Six ways enterprises are leveraging WeWork’s agile real estate

From company headquarters to innovation spaces, here’s how flexible real estate allows corporations to reach their business goals

Enterprise companies are not all built the same. There are myriad differences between a global tech giant and an investment bank, a high-end retailer and a car manufacturer. But every enterprise company can benefit from increased agility. 

The ability to work fast, pivot, and respond to challenges as they happen can be a business’s greatest asset. Agility means quickly reaching customers in new markets, offering prospective employees the opportunity to work on groundbreaking projects, investing in the latest technology, and innovating a product offering to respond to market demand. It’s no wonder that 70 percent of agile organizations rank in the top quarter of organizational health—the strongest indicator of positive long-term performance, according to McKinsey.

Real estate, too, can be agile, by allowing companies to adapt their portfolio as needed for the health and growth of their business, while decreasing up-front capital investment and reducing risk. 

Today, more than one-third of the Fortune 500 are leveraging WeWork’s agile real estate solutions to achieve their business goals. Take a look at how.

1. Company headquarters: Oscar Health

Rapid growth had poised tech-driven insurer Oscar Health to successfully scale, but in 2018, their existing New York headquarters could no longer hold all their talent. As a solution, Oscar Health identified WeWork to source, design, and build out a new space. 

In May 2019, Oscar moved more than 500 employees into their new headquarters at One Hudson Square in downtown Manhattan. The office reflects their brand and encompasses every feature on their wish list: The open floor plan has a variety of functional workspaces, ranging from individual booths to open lounges, to complement different work styles.

By partnering with WeWork, Oscar was able to save time and money. “Working with WeWork for cost savings, time efficiency, and streamlining the overall process was a win on all three counts,” says Charlie Mirisola, workplace operations manager at Oscar.

2. Regional headquarters: Slack

Slack, the workplace communication tool, provides a digital platform for the free flow of relevant information between employees. The company is headquartered in the heart of San Francisco and has offices in 10 cities around the world, from Vancouver to Tokyo. Yet Slack ensures that each of those regional offices meets their unique requirements and feels like extensions of the headquarters.

When evaluating real estate partners to further expand their footprint, Slack considered only those whose values and approach aligned with their own. They were also looking for flexible real estate solutions that wouldn’t tie up their funds in a 10- to 15-year traditional lease. 

“For any company, expenditures on capital is a dollar that we didn’t spend on R&D, it’s a dollar that we didn’t spend on marketing, it’s a dollar that we didn’t spend on headcount,” says Deano Roberts, Slack’s vice president of global workplace and real estate.

That’s why, when it came time to build out a regional headquarters in New York, Slack turned to WeWork.

Slack’s New York team now resides in a private, personalized WeWork space in a prime neighborhood. The workspace is warm, inviting, and outfitted with Slack’s branding and custom artwork. 

“When I look at the most meaningful and impactful workplaces, I think there’s a deep alignment between tools, culture, and spaces,” says Roberts. “Slack is a collaboration hub where people can come together to do the best work of their lives. And WeWork is a physical manifestation of that.”

3. Innovation hub: Standard Chartered

In 2018, Standard Chartered, a multinational financial services company, launched SC Ventures. This business unit was charged with driving digital innovation, investing in fin-tech and startups, and piloting new business models—all with the goal of improving the customer banking experience. The company had space on the ninth floor of their Standard Chartered Tower in Hong Kong, but it needed a complete overhaul to inspire the SC Ventures team to do cutting-edge work.

Standard Chartered decided to partner with WeWork to transform that floor into a collaborative workspace, fit for innovation, dubbed the “eXellerator Lab.” 

Dr. Michael Gorriz, group chief information officer at Standard Chartered, explains, “The word ‘eXellerator’ stems from two words: ‘acceleration’ in change and ‘excellence’ in client service.” The eXellerator Lab includes flexible classrooms, different types of meeting rooms, and even a large lounge to accommodate a wide range of events and day-to-day workshops. 

“The eXellerator in Hong Kong lets us bring ideas, skills, and, importantly, individuals—clients, fintech entrepreneurs, colleagues from the bank—together to enable innovation,” says Alex Manson, global head of SC Ventures, Standard Chartered.

4. Satellite office: Nio

Nio, a Chinese electric car company with global ambitions, has grown rapidly over the past four years. With 12 offices around the world (and counting), the company is home to a wide breadth of talent, including design, research and development, manufacturing, and customer care experts.

With the large amount of specialized teams, Nio saw that employees from different offices needed to come together and collaborate. In addition, with their aggressive innovation goals and the ever-changing nature of the electric automobile industry, Nio employees needed to constantly test and learn from new ideas. The company sought one central space for cross-functional teamwork.

For this innovative transformation, Nio turned to WeWork. Together, they identified WeWork One ITC, in the heart of Shanghai, as the ideal location. WeWork then developed a private floor as a satellite office.

“The new space is great for internal collaboration and creates a perfect balance between individual and team work,” says Jili Liu, head of Nio Life. “WeWork redefined our office space by building a unique community for us.”

5. Touchdown space for traveling teams: Microsoft

Microsoft’s New York City–based sales team had been working out of the company’s headquarters: a WeWork location in Times Square. Each day, hundreds of team members fanned out across the New York region on sales meetings. Yet, all that travel time caused them to lose valuable working hours as they went back and forth between meetings and their headquarters.

WeWork proposed a solution: WeWork access, which would give 300 employees the ability to work from any WeWork location in Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Queens

“We started to think of the benefit to our teams, which is what drives us as a company,” says Matt Donovan, general manager at Microsoft.

The ability to work from any WeWork completely transformed the employee experience for the tech giant. In fact, 92 percent of Microsoft employees surveyed were satisfied with the WeWork locations they visited; 84 percent of those surveyed believe access to WeWork locations makes them more productive; and 74 percent say WeWork access allows them to get close to customers.

6. Business development opportunities: Royal Bank of Canada

RBC at WeWork 1 University Ave in Toronto. Photograph by The We Company

While leveraging WeWork locations to quickly scale up agile project teams in key cities around the world, the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) saw an opportunity to fully use these assets: WeWork’s community of more than 400,000 members—ranging from entrepreneurs to global enterprises—could all benefit from RBC’s financial and business expertise.

In September 2017, RBC launched advice hubs in Toronto and Montreal WeWork locations. From those hubs, RBC employees could provide support for WeWork members, whether they needed help applying for a loan, optimizing their capital structure, or growing their headcount.

This partnership has been a win-win. WeWork members get valuable financial advice at no cost, and working alongside their clients allows RBC employees “to understand our clients’ business and financial needs on a deeper level,” says Niranjan Vivekanandan, vice president, strategy, commercial banking at RBC.

For all these reasons and more, WeWork’s agile real estate solutions can support your business goals. Let’s talk about how we can build the future of work, together.

Marnie Williams is a global content marketing manager at WeWork. She writes about the intersection of business and real estate. Previously, she created data-driven editorial and video at Oracle.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.

Here’s how Hootsuite scaled worldwide, fast, without compromising on quality

What is agile real estate? Learn what agile really means when it comes to real estate, and why so many businesses are seeing success with it

Thinking of building flexible workspace into your real estate portfolio? Here’s what to consider