企业利用WeWork敏捷房地产的五种方式

从公司总部到创新空间,灵活的房地产可助力企业实现其业务目标,下面将为您详细介绍

每间企业公司都不尽相同。全球科技巨头和投资银行之间,高端零售商和汽车制造商之间,总有着天渊之别。但是,每个企业都能从提高灵活性中受益。 

能够快速工作、灵活应变,并及时应对挑战,这可能是企业最大的财富。灵活性意味着迅速接触新市场的客户,为潜在员工提供从事突破性项目的机会,投资最新技术,并推出创新产品以满足市场需求。难怪麦肯锡报告显示,70% 的灵活组织都进入了组织健康状况排名前四分之一 — 这是长期积极表现的最强指标。

房地产也可以实现灵活性,方法是使公司根据业务健康和增长的需要调整投资组合,同时减少前期资本投资和降低风险。 

今天,超过三分之一的财富 500 强企业正在利用 WeWork 的灵活房地产解决方案来实现其业务目标。让我们来一探究竟。

1. 公司总部:Oscar Health

快速增长使科技驱动的保险公司 Oscar Health 得以成功扩张,但到了 2018 年,它们现有的纽约总部已无法容纳所有人才。为了解决这一问题,Oscar Health 找到了 WeWork 来提供、设计并建设一个新的办公空间。 

2019 年 5 月,Oscar 将 500 多名员工搬到了位于曼哈顿市中心哈德逊广场 (One Hudson Square) 的新总部。新办公室处处彰显着他们的品牌,并包含了他们想要的每一个功能:开放式内部格局有各种职能的工作空间,从独立的隔间到开放式休息室,以迎合不同工作风格的需求。

与 WeWork 的合作为 Oscar 节省了时间和金钱。Oscar 工作空间运营经理 Charlie Mirisola 表示:“与 WeWork 合作后,我们在节省成本、提高时间效率和优化整个流程这三个方面都取得了成效。”

2. 地区总部:Slack

Slack 是一款职场沟通工具,它为员工之间的相关信息自由流动提供了一个数字平台。该公司总部位于旧金山市中心,从温哥华到东京等,在全球 10 个城市设有办事处。然而,Slack 希望确保每个地区办事处都满足其独特要求,就像是总部的延伸一样。

在评估房地产合作伙伴以进一步拓展业务范围时,Slack 只考虑那些价值观和方法论与自己一致的合作伙伴。同时他们还在寻找灵活的房地产解决方案,不希望资金被 10 年至 15 年的传统租赁合同套牢。 

Slack 全球工作场所和房地产副总裁 Deano Roberts 表示:“对于任何一家公司来说,资本支出是指那些我们没有花费在研发上、营销上或是员工身上的钱。”

这正是在纽约建立地区总部时 Slack 向 WeWork 伸出橄榄枝的原因。

Slack 的纽约团队现在位于一个黄金地段的专属个性化 WeWork 空间。这个工作空间温暖而宜人,并且配备了 Slack 品牌和定制艺术品。 

“当我看到最具意义和影响力的工作场所时,我认为工具,文化和空间之间有着深刻的联系,”Roberts 说道,“Slack是一个协作中心,人们可以聚集在一起,尽情发挥所长。WeWork 就是这一点的物理表现。”

3. 创新中心:渣打银行

2018 年,跨国金融服务公司渣打银行成立了 SC Ventures。该业务部门负责推动数字创新,投资金融科技和初创公司,并试行新的商业模式——所有这些都旨在改善客户的银行体验。该公司在香港渣打银行大厦九楼有办公空间,但需要彻底翻修,以期激励 SC Ventures 团队进行最前沿的创新工作。

渣打银行决定与 WeWor k合作,将该楼层改造成一个适合创新的协作工作空间,称为“eXellerator Lab”。 

渣打银行集团首席信息官 Michael Gorriz 解释说:“eXellerator 一词源于两个词:变革上的‘acceleration’(加速)和客户服务上的‘excellence’(卓越)。”eXellerator Lab 拥有布局灵活的教室、不同类型的会议室,甚至还有一个大型休息室,可举办各种活动和日常研讨会。 

渣打银行 SC Ventures 全球负责人 Alex Manson 表示:“香港的 Xellerator 能激发我们的创意、技能,更重要的是,个人 — 包括客户、金融科技企业家和银行同事聚集在一起共同实现创新。”

4. 差旅团队的机动空间:Microsoft

Microsoft 纽约销售团队一直在公司总部之外办公,那就是时代广场的一处 WeWork 办公空间。每天都有数百名团队成员分散在纽约各地进行销售会议。然而,由于在各个会议和总部之间往返,这些差旅时间导致他们损失了宝贵的工作时间。

对此,WeWork 提出了一个解决方案:WeWork 访问权限,这可使 300 名员工能够在曼哈顿、布鲁克林和皇后区的任何一个 WeWork 办公空间工作。 

Microsoft 总经理 Matt Donovan 表示:“我们开始考虑这对我们的团队带来的好处,这是我们公司的动力所在。”

在任一 WeWork 办公空间工作的能力彻底改变了这一科技巨头的员工体验。事实上,92% 的受访 Microsoft 员工对他们访问的 WeWork 办公空间感到满意;84% 的受访者认为,进入WeWork 办公空间能提高工作效率;74% 的人表示,WeWork 访问权限让他们能够接近客户。

5. 业务发展机遇:加拿大皇家银行 (RBC)

RBC 位于多伦多 University 大道 1 号的 WeWork 办公空间。照片由 The We Company 提供。

在利用 WeWork 的办公空间在世界主要城市迅速扩大灵活项目团队的同时,加拿大皇家银行 (RBC) 看到了充分利用这些资产的机会:WeWork 社区拥有超过 400,000 名成员 —从创业者到大型跨国企业— 都能从 RBC 的金融和业务专长中受益。

2017 年 9 月,RBC 在多伦多蒙特利尔 WeWork 办公空间成立了咨询中心。在这些中心,RBC 员工可以为 WeWork 会员提供支持,无论他们是需要帮助申请贷款,优化其资本结构或是增加员工人数。

这种合作关系是双赢的。RBC 战略副总裁 Niranjan Vivekanandan 表示,WeWork 会员可以免费获得有价值的理财建议,而与客户一起工作可以让 RBC 员工“更深入地了解客户的业务和财务需求”。

基于以上及其他更多原因,WeWork 的灵活房地产解决方案可以支持您实现业务目标。下面我们来谈谈如何共同建设未来的工作环境。

Marnie Williams 是 WeWork 的全球内容营销经理。她写了关于业务和房地产的交集的文章。之前,她曾在 Oracle 创作了数据驱动的评论和视频。

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.

Six ways enterprises are leveraging WeWork’s agile real estate

From company headquarters to innovation spaces, here’s how flexible real estate allows corporations to reach their business goals

Enterprise companies are not all built the same. There are myriad differences between a global tech giant and an investment bank, a high-end retailer and a car manufacturer. But every enterprise company can benefit from increased agility. 

The ability to work fast, pivot, and respond to challenges as they happen can be a business’s greatest asset. Agility means quickly reaching customers in new markets, offering prospective employees the opportunity to work on groundbreaking projects, investing in the latest technology, and innovating a product offering to respond to market demand. It’s no wonder that 70 percent of agile organizations rank in the top quarter of organizational health—the strongest indicator of positive long-term performance, according to McKinsey.

Real estate, too, can be agile, by allowing companies to adapt their portfolio as needed for the health and growth of their business, while decreasing up-front capital investment and reducing risk. 

Today, more than one-third of the Fortune 500 are leveraging WeWork’s agile real estate solutions to achieve their business goals. Take a look at how.

1. Company headquarters: Oscar Health

Rapid growth had poised tech-driven insurer Oscar Health to successfully scale, but in 2018, their existing New York headquarters could no longer hold all their talent. As a solution, Oscar Health identified WeWork to source, design, and build out a new space. 

In May 2019, Oscar moved more than 500 employees into their new headquarters at One Hudson Square in downtown Manhattan. The office reflects their brand and encompasses every feature on their wish list: The open floor plan has a variety of functional workspaces, ranging from individual booths to open lounges, to complement different work styles.

By partnering with WeWork, Oscar was able to save time and money. “Working with WeWork for cost savings, time efficiency, and streamlining the overall process was a win on all three counts,” says Charlie Mirisola, workplace operations manager at Oscar.

2. Regional headquarters: Slack

Slack, the workplace communication tool, provides a digital platform for the free flow of relevant information between employees. The company is headquartered in the heart of San Francisco and has offices in 10 cities around the world, from Vancouver to Tokyo. Yet Slack ensures that each of those regional offices meets their unique requirements and feels like extensions of the headquarters.

When evaluating real estate partners to further expand their footprint, Slack considered only those whose values and approach aligned with their own. They were also looking for flexible real estate solutions that wouldn’t tie up their funds in a 10- to 15-year traditional lease. 

“For any company, expenditures on capital is a dollar that we didn’t spend on R&D, it’s a dollar that we didn’t spend on marketing, it’s a dollar that we didn’t spend on headcount,” says Deano Roberts, Slack’s vice president of global workplace and real estate.

That’s why, when it came time to build out a regional headquarters in New York, Slack turned to WeWork.

Slack’s New York team now resides in a private, personalized WeWork space in a prime neighborhood. The workspace is warm, inviting, and outfitted with Slack’s branding and custom artwork. 

“When I look at the most meaningful and impactful workplaces, I think there’s a deep alignment between tools, culture, and spaces,” says Roberts. “Slack is a collaboration hub where people can come together to do the best work of their lives. And WeWork is a physical manifestation of that.”

3. Innovation hub: Standard Chartered

In 2018, Standard Chartered, a multinational financial services company, launched SC Ventures. This business unit was charged with driving digital innovation, investing in fin-tech and startups, and piloting new business models—all with the goal of improving the customer banking experience. The company had space on the ninth floor of their Standard Chartered Tower in Hong Kong, but it needed a complete overhaul to inspire the SC Ventures team to do cutting-edge work.

Standard Chartered decided to partner with WeWork to transform that floor into a collaborative workspace, fit for innovation, dubbed the “eXellerator Lab.” 

Dr. Michael Gorriz, group chief information officer at Standard Chartered, explains, “The word ‘eXellerator’ stems from two words: ‘acceleration’ in change and ‘excellence’ in client service.” The eXellerator Lab includes flexible classrooms, different types of meeting rooms, and even a large lounge to accommodate a wide range of events and day-to-day workshops. 

“The eXellerator in Hong Kong lets us bring ideas, skills, and, importantly, individuals—clients, fintech entrepreneurs, colleagues from the bank—together to enable innovation,” says Alex Manson, global head of SC Ventures, Standard Chartered.

4. Satellite office: Nio

Nio, a Chinese electric car company with global ambitions, has grown rapidly over the past four years. With 12 offices around the world (and counting), the company is home to a wide breadth of talent, including design, research and development, manufacturing, and customer care experts.

With the large amount of specialized teams, Nio saw that employees from different offices needed to come together and collaborate. In addition, with their aggressive innovation goals and the ever-changing nature of the electric automobile industry, Nio employees needed to constantly test and learn from new ideas. The company sought one central space for cross-functional teamwork.

For this innovative transformation, Nio turned to WeWork. Together, they identified WeWork One ITC, in the heart of Shanghai, as the ideal location. WeWork then developed a private floor as a satellite office.

“The new space is great for internal collaboration and creates a perfect balance between individual and team work,” says Jili Liu, head of Nio Life. “WeWork redefined our office space by building a unique community for us.”

5. Touchdown space for traveling teams: Microsoft

Microsoft’s New York City–based sales team had been working out of the company’s headquarters: a WeWork location in Times Square. Each day, hundreds of team members fanned out across the New York region on sales meetings. Yet, all that travel time caused them to lose valuable working hours as they went back and forth between meetings and their headquarters.

WeWork proposed a solution: WeWork access, which would give 300 employees the ability to work from any WeWork location in Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Queens

“We started to think of the benefit to our teams, which is what drives us as a company,” says Matt Donovan, general manager at Microsoft.

The ability to work from any WeWork completely transformed the employee experience for the tech giant. In fact, 92 percent of Microsoft employees surveyed were satisfied with the WeWork locations they visited; 84 percent of those surveyed believe access to WeWork locations makes them more productive; and 74 percent say WeWork access allows them to get close to customers.

6. Business development opportunities: Royal Bank of Canada

RBC at WeWork 1 University Ave in Toronto. Photograph by The We Company

While leveraging WeWork locations to quickly scale up agile project teams in key cities around the world, the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) saw an opportunity to fully use these assets: WeWork’s community of more than 400,000 members—ranging from entrepreneurs to global enterprises—could all benefit from RBC’s financial and business expertise.

In September 2017, RBC launched advice hubs in Toronto and Montreal WeWork locations. From those hubs, RBC employees could provide support for WeWork members, whether they needed help applying for a loan, optimizing their capital structure, or growing their headcount.

This partnership has been a win-win. WeWork members get valuable financial advice at no cost, and working alongside their clients allows RBC employees “to understand our clients’ business and financial needs on a deeper level,” says Niranjan Vivekanandan, vice president, strategy, commercial banking at RBC.

For all these reasons and more, WeWork’s agile real estate solutions can support your business goals. Let’s talk about how we can build the future of work, together.

Marnie Williams is a global content marketing manager at WeWork. She writes about the intersection of business and real estate. Previously, she created data-driven editorial and video at Oracle.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.

Here’s how Hootsuite scaled worldwide, fast, without compromising on quality

What is agile real estate? Learn what agile really means when it comes to real estate, and why so many businesses are seeing success with it

Thinking of building flexible workspace into your real estate portfolio? Here’s what to consider