空間轉型,進而激發渣打銀行的開展創新

在短短三個月內,WeWork 為這家金融服務公司設計並建造了一個充滿活力的新「exellator Lab 創新實驗室」

挑戰:保持在創新最前端的壓力

每間公司都必須創新才能生存—這是渣打銀行深切體認的現實。

香港渣打銀行執行長 Mary Huen 表示:「由於客戶變得更加數位化,且期待更無縫、及時且便於使用者取得銀行服務,我們需要不斷創新和改進,否則就有可能跟不上時代。」

這正是渣打銀行於 2018 年 1 月推出金融科技投資部門 SC Ventures 的原因。此業務部門負責推動數位創新,投資於金融科技和草創公司,並試行新的商業模式—所有這些舉動都是為了改善客戶的銀行體驗。

該公司在香港渣打銀行大廈九樓有空間,但需要全面翻修。SC Ventures 欲想成為公司內部的改革推動者,因此需要一個明亮的現代空間,以激發創新和創意、促進合作並提高團隊效率。

解決辦法:為了實現創新,重塑現有空間

渣打銀行與 WeWork 合作,將樓層改造成一個創新中心和創新空間,稱為「eXellerator Lab 創新實驗室」。

渣打銀行集團資訊長 Michael Gorriz 博士解釋道:「 ‘eXellerator’ 一詞源於二字:『加速』(acceleration) 變化中的『加速』和『卓越』 (excellence) 客戶服務中的『卓越』。」

EXellerator Lab 創新實驗室包括靈活的教室、不同類型的會議室以及一個大型休息室,可舉辦各種活動和日常工作坊。設計融合了渣打銀行的品牌色彩,並對香港的本土文化致敬。

結果:一個推動速度與卓越的創新空間

Xellerator 空間只花了三個月的時間便完工。EXellerator Lab 創新實驗室負責人 Liam Gilligan 對 WeWork 的效率及對專案的敬業精神印象深刻:「我們給 WeWork 完成這項工程的時間很趕。大家都對他們能在時間內完工的能力印象深刻。」

更重要的是,eXellator Lab 創新實驗室現在多了一個充滿活力的社區。獨特的空間啟發了合作契機,現在已是 SC Ventures 員工引以為傲,能與客戶和產業夥伴合作的理想場所。

渣打銀行充分利用新的辦公空間來舉辦各種活動,展開跨部門合作以開發新產品。從改造他們的電話客服中心,到開發網路聊天機器人和重新推出行動裝置應用程式,eXellerator Lab 創新實驗室已為渣打銀行創造出可觀的回報。

「Exellerator Lab 創新實驗室能激發構想和技能,還有最重要的是,讓每個人—客戶、金融科技企業家、銀行同事—聚集在一起以實現創新,」渣打銀行 SC Ventures 全球主管 Alex Manson 如是說。

主要亮點

  • 渣打銀行擁有這個佔地總共 10,000 平方尺的辦公空間,但交由 Wework 負責設計、建造和營運
  • 為了鼓勵創新,靈活運用依照規格配置的空間
  • 快速交付,整個專案三個月就完工
  • 室內設計與渣打銀行品牌契合
  • 個人化的活動和程式設計

查看我們的工作空間解決方案,或與我們聯繫,深入瞭解 WeWork 為貴公司等企業所提供的服務。

A transformed space inspires innovation at Standard Chartered

In just three months, WeWork designed and built out a dynamic, new ‘eXellerator Lab’ for the financial services company

Around the world, companies of all sizes find space to succeed at WeWork. Our Member Spotlight series shares their unique stories.

The challenge: pressure to stay on the cutting edge of innovation

Every company must innovate to survive—a reality that Standard Chartered knows quite well.

“As clients become more digital and expect more seamless, timely, and user-friendly access to banking services, we need to constantly innovate and improve, or risk being left behind,” says Mary Huen, CEO at Standard Chartered Hong Kong.

That’s why in January 2018, Standard Chartered launched SC Ventures. This business unit was charged with driving digital innovation, investing in fin-tech and startups, and piloting new business models—all with the goal of improving the customer banking experience.

The company had space on the ninth floor of their Standard Chartered Tower in Hong Kong, but it needed a complete overhaul. For SC Ventures to be an agent of change within the company, they needed a bright, modern space that would inspire innovation and creativity, foster collaboration, and increase team efficiency—as soon as possible.

The solution: reinventing an existing space for innovation

Standard Chartered partnered with WeWork to transform that floor into an innovation hub and collaborative workspace dubbed the “eXellerator Lab.”

Dr. Michael Gorriz, group chief information officer at Standard Chartered, explains: “The word ‘eXellerator’ stems from two words: ‘acceleration’ in change and ‘excellence’ in client service.”

The eXellerator Lab includes flexible classrooms, different types of meeting rooms, and even a large lounge to accommodate a wide range of events and day-to-day workshops. The design incorporates Standard Chartered’s brand colors, as well as nods to local Hong Kong culture.

The results: a collaborative workspace that fuels acceleration and excellence

The eXellerator space took just three months to complete. Liam Gilligan, head of the eXellerator Lab, was impressed with WeWork’s speed and dedication to the project: “The time frame that we asked WeWork to operate to was really tight. Everyone was impressed at the ability to deliver within that.”

More importantly, a vibrant community now exists within the eXellerator Lab. The space inspires collaboration and has proved to be a place where SC Ventures employees are proud to work with clients and industry partners.

Standard Chartered has taken full advantage of the new space, hosting events and working cross-functionally to develop new products. From revamping their call centers to developing a web chatbot and relaunching their mobile app, the eXellerator Lab is already generating returns for Standard Chartered.

“The eXellerator in Hong Kong lets us bring ideas, skills, and, importantly, individuals—clients, fintech entrepreneurs, colleagues from the bank—together to enable innovation,” says Alex Manson, global head of SC Ventures, Standard Chartered.

Key highlights

  • 10,000-square-foot space owned by Standard Chartered but designed, built, and operated by WeWork
  • Flexible space built to spec to encourage innovation
  • Speedy delivery with the entire project taking three months to complete
  • Interior design aligned with Standard Chartered’s brand
  • Personalized events and programming

WeWork offers companies of all sizes space solutions that help solve their biggest business challenges.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.