員工對工作有什麼期待?

一項新的調查顯示,對許多員工而言,工作不只是一份薪水而已

工作有很多令人不愉快的事:不必要的會議不講理的老闆難以相處的同事。但是,工作還有其他方面能讓員工感到滿意:能夠參與大型任務或是與朋友一起合作

試圖讓表現最佳的員工心情愉悅並不斷上進的企業面臨的挑戰是如何限制工作上不愉快的方面,同時帶來更多令人滿意的方面。研究顯示,企業尋找人才非常耗時且困難,因此了解應徵者對工作的期望是保留最佳人才的第一步。

享受生活對工作有幫助

在睡前查看手機上的收件匣,在放假時做一些回覆電子郵件或請款等瑣事,以及在途中接聽電話已經變得太過容易。工作過度的文化通常會產生員工應該提前做好這些事情的錯覺,以免被認為懶散或不夠用心。對員工及其主管來說,這種想法有害無利,而且適得其反,理所當然地激起強烈反對和呼籲節制。

當然,員工希望透過自己的工作得到豐厚的報酬。但是,隨著工作佔據生活中越來越多的空間,金錢不再是許多人看重工作的首要方面。WeWorkAspen Institute 最近的調查「未來工作倡議」顯示,員工在工作場所最看重的特點是工作與生活的平衡。接受「The Future of Work and Cities」調查的 30,000 名全球員工中,有 40% 表示工作與生活的平衡對他們來說是最重要的,超過提到薪水 (33%) 和福利 (28%) 的人數。這些方面的提及次數比升遷機會、業務前景和領導才能還多。

雖然工作生活平衡看似定義不明確的流行語,但大致上能總結為有時間和情感空間能區分工作與個人生活,以盡可能地在工作與生活之間取得令人滿意的平衡。對於某些人來說,這可能意味著按時回家與家人共進晚餐,或是不受打擾地看一場電影,而沒有老闆追問下一個截止日期。

Arianna Huffington 認為我們的文化過度忽視工作生活平衡的問題,因此成立一家致力於宣傳其優點的公司。Thrive Global 是一家總部是由 WeWork 建造的媒體公司,致力於消除過度工作的文化。她有一次在高强度工作後,由於睡眠不足、極度疲勞而倒下。後來這位媒體高級主管於 2007 年創立這家公司。現在,她倡導在工作與生活之間劃清界限,並實踐自己的理念:她早上刻意忽略手機,進行冥想及運動,並在家中專注工作,然後再去辦公室開會。

「我堅信劃分優先順序與規劃當天行程的好處,這樣你就能專心處理並切實完成必須做的事情,然後再安心處理那些非緊急事務。」她說

找不到欄位。

適當休假

隨著許多公司意識到職業倦怠的危機,他們開始實施政策來幫助員工避免這種情況。提供支薪休假是很好的辦法,能讓員工知道在非工作時間不需要回覆電子郵件,身為經理的人更要身體力行。

公司保護員工身心健康的另一個方法是幫助減少一天之中最可怕的噩夢:在尖峰時間通勤。通勤浪費大量時間,也是許多員工搬到離工作更近的地方的原因。

改變公司政策以允許員工有效進行遠端工作可減少通勤時間。它使不需要在辦公室花時間的員工能夠以更有意義的方式來安排時間。夜貓子可以晚點再開始工作,父母可以準時接送孩子—而且這兩個族群都可以避免交通尖峰時段。另一個好處是,提供這種靈活性意味著管理階層信任員工並重視他們的貢獻,無論是當面還是透過視訊會議。

鼓勵工作生活平衡並減少通勤時間的另一個方法是在便利的地點設立辦公空間。Microsoft 就是這樣做,他們讓所有位於紐約的銷售團隊使用市內任何 WeWork 地點。員工可以在離家最近的任何地點工作,從而節省原本通勤所花費的時間。

歸屬感

員工想要的不只是明確劃清工作和非工作時間的界限。在工作時間(無論職位高低或身在何處),員工都希望與他人合作,並參與超越自身範圍的任務。畢竟,工作是我們大多數人度過人生中絕大多數時間的地方。

根據「未來的工作與城市」調查,有 28% 的受訪者表示重視「社區意識」,而「福利」排在員工期望的第三位。對較年長的員工來說,此偏好略為明顯:45 歲以上的員工中有 30% 的人認為社區是重要特點,而 45 歲以下的員工中有 26% 的人認為社區是重要特點。

感覺屬於更大的團體或任務的一部分可以為傳送的電子郵件、歸檔的文件和工作中所有其他行政事務帶來意義。參與健康且樂於支援的團隊能讓員工更願意留下來,並在工作中積極進取。特別是對於那些看待問題角度不同的員工,合作可幫助整個團隊發現個人可能容易忽略的盲點

根據 WeWork 和市場研究公司 Ipsos 的一項調查,將近 70% 對工作感到滿意的員工表示,他們每周至少與他人合作一次。在不滿意的員工中,不到 50% 的員工表示他們具有這種程度的合作。除了留住員工外,合作還有其他方式可能影響盈利狀況。根據 MIT 的研究,在員工體驗方面得分前四分之一高的公司(讓員工容易合作及執行構想的公司)的利潤比排名最後四分之一的公司高 25%。

在辦公室創造社區氛圍

隨著員工持續優先考慮合作和聯繫,實體工作空間已演變以滿足員工的需求(共享辦公室就應運而生了)。

「歸屬感是全力以赴的重要因素。」IBM 的研究與設計主管 O’Rourke 說。為 IBM 的 CIO 辦公室尋找新的工作場地時,他們想要一個可以容納多元員工群體且能營造社區氛圍的工作空間。CIO 辦公室展開一項名為「我們的空間」(Our Space) 的計劃,讓各樓層的人們​提供意見表達他們希望如何使用空間。

辦公室內的人營造辦公室的氛圍,但建築細節也能產生促進的功效。內部樓梯和走廊讓工作時更容易隨機遇見他人,自發交流。大型開放式廚房和公共區域能鼓勵員工以正式和非正式的方式會面。創新的會議室不僅包括白板,還有藝術品、盆栽和各種座位,能將趣味元素融入會議空間,還能幫助產生創意。

Slack 的全球工作空間與房地產副總裁 Deano Roberts 說:「每當我看到最具意義和影響力的工作場所時,就認為工具、文化和空間之間存在著深刻的聯繫。」

找出讓員工充滿熱情、快樂和滿足感的原因是企業最難破解的難題之一。在「未來的工作與城市」研究中接受調查的企業決策者有 38% 表示他們很難吸引與留住人才。這的確很困難,但對企業的成功至關重要。當員工投入、快樂且舒適時,這會反映在他們的工作中,他們會更有效率,且較可能會創新。McKinsey 認為,在高複雜性工作中,高績效員工的效率比一般員工高約 800%。

「我認為未來的工作方式將回到人的天性,而且要記得,人員不只是資源。他們有生活,而工作是生活的一部分。」IBM 的 O’Rourke 說。

找不到欄位。

Anjie Zheng is the editor of Ideas by WeWork. Previously, she was a reporter for the Wall Street Journal. Her work has also appeared in Fast Company, Quartz, and LitHub.

對工作空間有興趣?與我們取得聯繫。

What do employees look for in a job?

A new survey shows that for many employees, work is much more than just a paycheck

So much of work can seem unpleasant: unnecessary meetings, unreasonable bosses, a nemesis colleague. But there are other aspects that can prove fulfilling to employees: a sense of being part of a larger mission, or the ability to work with friends

The challenge for businesses trying to keep their best performers happy and thriving is how to limit the unpleasant aspects while teasing out more of the fulfilling ones. With studies showing how time-consuming and difficult it is for businesses to find talent, figuring out what candidates look for in a job now is the first step in retaining the best ones. 

Having a life helps at work

It has become far too easy to check your inbox on your phone right before bed, do little tasks like replying to emails or filing expenses on your day off, and take calls while in transit. A culture of overwork often creates a sense that this behavior is expected of employees to get ahead, lest they be judged as lazy or insufficiently committed. The idea is damaging and counterproductive, both for employees and their managers—and has understandably spurred a backlash and a loud call for moderation. 

Of course, employees want to be well compensated for the work they do. But with work taking up ever more space in our lives, money is no longer the top aspect many people value in a job. A recent survey by WeWork and The Aspen Institute’s Future of Work Initiative shows that the characteristic that employees value most in the workplace is work-life balance. Forty percent of the 30,000 global workers surveyed for The Future of Work and Cities said work-life balance is most important to them in a job, trumping those who cited pay (33 percent) and benefits (28 percent). These aspects were cited more frequently than opportunity for advancement, business outlook, and quality of leadership. 

While work-life balance can seem like an ill-defined buzz phrase, it’s best summed up as having the time and emotional space to separate work from one’s personal life—to be able to, as much as possible, have a satisfying equilibrium between the time you work and the time you don’t. For some, that might mean getting home in time to have dinner with family; for others, it’s watching a movie without being interrupted by a boss asking questions about the next deadline. 

Arianna Huffington believed the issue of work-life balance was so overlooked and deprioritized by our culture that she launched a company dedicated to touting its benefits. Thrive Global, a media company with a headquarters by WeWork, is focused on ending the epidemic of overwork. The media executive founded the business in 2007, after she collapsed from sleep deprivation and exhaustion after working too much. She now advocates for maintaining clear boundaries between work and life, and practices what she preaches: She deliberately ignores her phone first thing in the morning in favor of meditation and exercise, and does focused work at home before heading into the office for meetings. 

“I’m a big believer in the benefit of ruthless prioritization and structuring your day so you can take care of what absolutely has to be done, and then declare an end to it and be OK with incompletions for what can wait,” she has said

Take that time off

As companies become aware of the dangers of burnout, they’re implementing policies to help their employees ward it off. A good way to start is by offering paid time off so people can take vacations, setting up the expectation that employees need not answer emails during hours outside of working ones, and—if you’re a manager—modeling these behaviors.

Another way companies can protect their employees’ well-being is to help cut down on what is often the most dreaded part of the day: commuting during rush hour. It’s a huge chunk of wasted time—and the reason so many employees move closer to work.

Changing company policy to allow employees to work remotely effectively reduces commute time for those who need it. It empowers employees who aren’t required to get face time in the office to structure their hours in a way that makes sense for them. Night owls can get started working later in the morning, parents could be there for school pickup—and both can avoid sitting in rush-hour traffic. As an added benefit, offering that flexibility signals that management trusts workers and values their contributions, whether that’s in person or through videoconferencing. 

Another way to encourage work-life balance and reduce commute time is to establish office space in convenient locations. Microsoft did this when they gave all of its New York-based sales teams access to every WeWork location in the city. Employees were able to work from whatever location was closest to their homes, giving them back the time they would have otherwise spent in transit.

A sense of belonging

And it’s not just a clear delineation between work and nonwork time that employees want. During working hours (whatever and wherever they might be), employees want to collaborate with others and be part of something greater than themselves. Work, after all, is the place where most of us spend the vast majority of our lives.

Twenty-eight percent of respondents said they value a “sense of community,” according to the Future of Cities and Work survey, which tied “benefits” for third place in the list of employee desires. This preference is slightly more pronounced for older workers: 30 percent of workers over 45 years old identified community as an important characteristic, versus 26 percent of those workers under 45. 

Feeling that you belong to part of a larger group or mission can give meaning to the emails sent, paperwork filed, and all the other administrative tasks that comprise a workday. Being part of a healthy and supportive team makes it more likely an employee will stay and thrive at a job. Particularly among people who don’t see eye to eye, collaboration helps a team as a whole identify blind spots that each individual might not otherwise have seen. 

Nearly 70 percent of employees who are satisfied at work say they collaborate with others at least once a week, according to one survey by WeWork and Ipsos, the market research firm. Among unsatisfied employees, less than 50 percent say they have this level of collaboration. Besides retaining employees, there are other ways that collaboration can impact the bottom line. According to research from MIT, companies that scored in the top quartile for employee experience—those that made it easy for employees to work together and execute ideas—saw 25 percent higher profits than those that ranked in the bottom quartile. 

Creating community in the office

As employees continue to prioritize collaboration and connection, the physical workspace has evolved to cater to their desires (think of the rise of coworking). 

“Belonging is a huge part of doing your best work,” says Molly O’Rourke, research and design leader at IBM. When IBM’s CIO Office was looking for a new workspace, they wanted one that could accommodate their diverse group of employees and create a sense of community. The CIO Office began an initiative called Our Space, where people on the floor can ​give feedback on how they want to use the space. 

The vibe of an office is comprised of the people who inhabit it, but architectural details can help. Internal staircases and hallways make it more possible for spontaneous run-ins to happen during the workday. Large, open kitchens and communal areas encourage employees to meet formally and informally. Innovative rooms that include not just a whiteboard but art, plants, and a variety of seating inject an element of playfulness into a meeting space and can help generate ideas. 

“When I look at the most meaningful and impactful workplaces, I think there’s a deep alignment between tools, culture, and spaces,” says Deano Roberts, Slack’s vice president of global workplace and real estate. 

Figuring out what keeps employees enthusiastic, happy, and fulfilled is one of the toughest—if not the toughest—nut to crack for businesses. Thirty-eight percent of business decision-makers surveyed in The Future of Cities and Work study say they’re having a hard time attracting and retaining talent. It’s difficult but essential to a business’s success. When employees are engaged, happy, and comfortable, it’s reflected in their work—they’re more productive and likely to innovate. According to McKinsey, high-performing workers are about 800 percent more productive than average workers in high-complexity jobs.

“I think the future of work is going back to what makes us human and remembering that people are not just resources. They have lives, and work is a portion of that life,” says IBM’s O’Rourke.

Anjie Zheng is a writer for WeWork’s Ideas by We, focusing on business, real estate, and design. Previously, she was a reporter for the Wall Street Journal. Her work has also appeared in Fast Company, Quartz, and LitHub.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.