在工作場所設立窗戶能讓工作更美好

自然光和迷人的窗戶能讓辦公室生氣盎然

透過窗戶照射進來的自然光能讓工作更美好,這點無庸置疑。好在許多公司已經意識到工作場地擁有許多窗戶的優點

這些優點包括更能專注及減輕眼睛疲勞。在由康乃爾大學設計與環境分析系教授進行的一項研究中,在有日光的辦公室工作的員工表示眼睛疲勞、頭痛和視力模糊的症狀減少 84%,這些症狀都會破壞工作效率。

此外,研究發現,坐在窗戶旁並且接觸到陽光的員工效率提高了 2%。雖然聽起來並不多,但如果根據工作週的天數和員工人數來計算,只要幾扇窗戶就可以帶來很高的投資報酬率。

另一方面,整天坐在無窗的螢光燈下會增加員工的煩躁感,並助長季節性情緒失調 (SAD) 等更嚴重的狀況。

英國公司 Staples 在 2018 年發布的一份報告中發現,百分之八十的上班族表示,工作場地的良好照明對他們來說很重要;大約三分之一的人表示,更好的照明實際上會讓他們在工作時更快樂

所以重點是什麼呢?組織應投資能為員工提供自然光的窗戶。您可以參考這些 WeWork 地點,這些地點不僅提供大量自然光,還在窗戶中融入美麗的設計和功能。

廣泛設置窗戶

無論進入波士頓 WeWork 1 Boylston 辦公室的哪個角落,都不會感覺陷入黑暗、單調的空間。四周的大窗戶和上方的天窗帶來大量自然光。

室內的公園長椅

在倫敦 WeWork 2 Minster Court 的拱形落地窗旁的舒適角落工作時,感覺就像在戶外的公園長椅上。無論是想在工作時偶爾暫停觀看路人,還是單純在窗前休息一下,這都是從辦公桌放鬆身心的好方法。

氣派的入口

在孟買的 WeWork Chromium 接待區外部和內部,帶有菱形金屬窗框的寬大窗戶令人驚嘆。通風的空間非常適合接待辦公室訪客或在等候區快速開會。

露台般的氣氛

踏進巴黎 WeWork 92 Champs-Élysées 的公共區域,彷彿像在陽台上享受午餐。弧形空間和落地窗圍繞著成員,讓他們休息或與同事臨時開會。

佈滿窗戶的牆

壯麗的景色貼切地描述墨西哥城 WeWork Artz Pedregal 成員每天在辦公室獲得的經驗。此空間的整個立面均由窗戶構成,可欣賞寧靜的綠地和遙遠的天際線。

溫室效應

有些窗戶是為美景而設,但這些位於北京 WeWork 中航資本大廈的獨特窗戶本身就是美景。底部有綠色植物,讓人聯想到溫室般的感覺,營造出明亮且充滿活力的工作場地。

豐富色彩

這扇位於上海 WeWork Trinity Place 的窗戶具有雙重功用,既可為空間增亮,同時又是裝飾牆。窗戶中央的彩色玻璃成為空間的焦點,展現該地區的藝術風格。

窺視室外

在理想的情況下,當您想停下來窺視外面的世界時,每扇窗戶都會有一個靠窗的座位。位於洛杉磯的 WeWork 5161 Lankershim Boulevard 就有這樣的構想,增添軟墊座椅和枕頭,鼓勵員工放鬆一下。

Dawn Papandrea 是一位自由撰稿人,寫作內容涵蓋工作、個人理財和高等教育。她的著作曾出現在許多出版物中,包括 Family CircleMonster.com。追蹤她的 Twitter

歸類
生產力
對工作空間有興趣?與我們取得聯繫。

A window into the workplace—and a better day at work

Natural light and stunning windows can bring an office to life

It’s no surprise that having access to windows and the natural light they bring can lead to a better day at work. The good news is many companies have realized the benefits of having a workspace with as many windows as possible.

Those benefits include the ability to focus better and put less strain on the eyes. In one study by a Cornell professor in the Department of Design and Environmental Analysis, workers in offices that had daylight reported an 84 percent drop in symptoms of eyestrain, headaches, and blurred vision, all of which can derail productivity.

In addition, the study found that workers who sit close to a window and have daylight exposure reported a 2 percent increase in productivity. While that might not sound like much, if you crunch numbers based on the amount of days in the workweek and the number of employees, a few windows can have a high ROI.

On the flip side, sitting all day under fluorescent lights in a windowless space could add to worker irritability and help fuel more serious conditions like seasonal affective disorder (SAD).

Another 2018 report by the UK company Staples found that 80 percent of office workers said that having good lighting in their workspace is important to them; about one-third said better lighting would actually make them happier at work. 

The bottom line? Organizations should invest in windows that provide their workforce with natural light. Get inspired by these WeWork locations that not only provide lots of natural light, but also incorporate stunning designs and functionality into their windows.

Windows all around

No matter which corner of the office you venture into at WeWork 1 Boylston in Boston, you’ll never feel like you’re stuck in a dark, drab space. The large windows around the perimeter, along with the skylights above, bring in tons of natural light.

A park bench inside

When working in the cozy nook next to the floor-to-ceiling arched window in WeWork 2 Minster Court in London, it feels as if you’re outside on a park bench. Whether you want to work while occasionally pausing to people-watch, or you are just taking a brain break by the window, it’s a lovely and relaxing retreat from the desk.

Grand entrance

Both from the outside looking in and from inside the reception area of WeWork Chromium in Mumbai, the sprawling windows with diamond-shaped metal panes are stunning. The airy space is perfect for greeting office visitors or for a quick meeting in the waiting area. 

A terrace-like feel

You almost feel as if you’re enjoying lunch on the veranda when you step into this common area at WeWork 92 Champs-Élysées in Paris. The curved shape of the room and floor-to-ceiling windows envelop members while they take a break or have an impromptu meeting with colleagues.

A wall of windows 

Majestic views is an appropriate description of what members at WeWork Artz Pedregal in Mexico City get to experience from their offices each day. The entire facade of this space is made of windows that provide a peaceful view of greenery and the distant skyline.

Greenhouse effect

Some windows are all about the views, but these unique ones at WeWork Avic Capital Tower in Beijing are a sight unto themselves. With greenery running along the bottom, they evoke a greenhouse-like feel, making for a bright and vibrant workspace. 

A pop of color

The window pictured here at WeWork Trinity Place in Shanghai pulls double-duty as a room brightener and an accent wall. The colorful stained glass in the center of the window becomes the focal point of the space and showcases the artistic style of the region.

Peek outside

In a perfect world, every window would have a window seat for those moments when you want to pause and take a peek at the world outside. WeWork 5161 Lankershim Boulevard in Los Angeles has the right idea by adding cushioned seating and pillows to encourage workers to take five.

Dawn Papandrea is a freelance writer who covers work, personal finance, and higher education. Her writing has appeared in numerous publications, including Family Circle and Monster.com. Follow her on Twitter.

FILED UNDER
PRODUCTIVITY
Interested in workspace? Get in touch.