如何在工作場所擁抱跨世代多樣性—並從中獲得競爭優勢

一位撰寫關於多世代工作新書的作者說,擁有比您年長和年輕的同事可以幫助推動創新

當派對的能量削弱時,DJ 們有一個竅門:放混音音樂。「所有人會立刻動起來。老一輩的人認得主曲,而年輕一輩則被混入的新歌曲和節奏所吸引,」千禧世代和多世代專家 Lindsey Pollak 說到。而她說這也是她最近一本新書標題的靈感來源 The Remix: How to Lead and Succeed in the Multigenerational Workplace《職場混音:如何在多世代工作場所中領導與成功》。「工作場所也有相似之處。所有世代都有不同的經驗、不同的能量,且帶來不同的才能和品質。」 

在她的研究中,Pollak 發現那些積極努力推動「獨家青年人才」趨勢—想想帽 T 和乒乓球桌—的公司,在能夠與跨世代的客戶和人才以及創新和解決問題方面具有優勢。數字會說話:根據 2018 年任仕達工作趨勢研究顯示,86% 的全球員工傾向在多世代的團隊中工作,理由是出於創新和創造力。而且,現在錄用跨世代的機會比以往都多:65 歲以上的美國人就業率是 50 年來最高,且超過 85 歲的美國人有超過四分之一還在就業中。 

有哪幾世代存在勞動人口中?

這些是六世代的客戶和人才: 

  • 傳統主義者(1928 年至 1945 年出生):忠誠、正式、自豪。
  • 戰後嬰兒潮世代(1946 年至 1964 年出生) :聚焦自我、樂觀、好勝心強。
  • 瓊斯世代(1955 年至 1965 年出生): 適應力強、開放、能夠在理想主義和犬儒主義中找到平衡。他們是受到 1970 到 1990 年代技術進步和全球化影響的「微世代」。
  • X 世代(1965 年至 1980 年出生):科技先驅、獨立、持懷疑態度。X 世代初期者受益於 1980 年代蓬勃發展的經濟,然後在 1990 年代後期整個群組受到網路泡沫化的影響。
  • 千禧世代(1981 年至 1996 年出生):因生長在手機和 WiFi 時代,而依賴科技、目的驅動、自我表現。 
  • Z 世代(1997 年及以後出生):謹慎(他們生長在 2008 年經濟衰退及其後果中,可能仍在努力應對沉重的學生貸款債務)、多樣性、高科技。這一代最年長的成員才剛剛開始他們的職業生涯。 

瞭解客戶和同事可以跨越這些世代將能鼓勵您在人脈和社交方面撒入更大的網。

在工作場所擁抱多世代多樣性的五種方法

Pollak 提供以下方法,來鼓勵跨世代多樣性和包容性—並將其影響力發揮至最大。 

1. 不要把年齡輩分看得太重

Pollak 說:「人們可以會對自己的年齡太敏感,特別是要與一個比自己年輕的召募經理說話的時候。」如果您正在面試一份工作—或是面試他人—請不要開玩笑地說「我在您出生前就已經在這行工作了。」這不僅會讓對方感到不舒服,而且會讓人更難看到彼此的共通性:沒錯,您可能比桌子另一端的人有更多的經驗,但您也可能有非常相似的背景。尋找彼此的共通點。 

2. 記住:「煩人」是不分年齡層的

將同事煩人的行為—在正式郵件中用簡訊般的口吻;不用 Slack 而是堅持打電話—歸咎在其年齡上很容易。但 Pollak 說,這比較像是個性上的問題。「與其假設某人永遠不會改變自己的行為,您其實有兩種選擇:接受該行為,或者,如果它真正影響您的工作,那就指導他們適當的行為,並提出解決建議。」例如,如果您發現自己對同事簡訊般口吻的郵件感到困惑,那麼告知他,然後向他介紹 Gmail 的快速訊息預設回覆。

3. 使用多個通訊管道

Pollak 說,在不同世代間工作也提醒著您,您在工作中與個人聯繫。想多種方式來傳達您的訊息:有些人用社群媒體回應;有些人更喜歡播客或 YouTube,而有些人則寧願在線上閱讀或接收直接的郵件。「這不是『哦,這個人 50 幾歲,所以我們寄郵件給他吧』,而是要認知到,不是每個人都希望以您喜歡的方式接收資訊。」在內部和外部使用多個通訊管道可以培養包容性文化。

4. 建立一個強大的入職流程

多世代工作場所的一大優點是您可以拋下「傳統方法」。但要做到這一點,您必須清楚地告知您辦公室是如何運作的。與其假定人們已經知道如何使用 Google Suite 或 Slack,考慮將教導新職員公司怎麼使用這些工具納入入職流程中。此外,展示工作場所成功的良好範例—實用的電子郵件範本、銷售推銷輔導、在有經驗的員工旁見習—都可以幫助人們快速上手,而不是說「他很老派」或「年輕人什麼都不懂」。

5. 檢視您的個人生活

「我發現,在他們的個人生活中,大多數人不會與比自己年齡大或小超過十歲的人互動,親戚除外,」Pollak 說到。評估自己的交友世代。如果您的年齡結果落在十年內,Pollak 建議您擴大您的交友圈。「在會議中與比自己年長或年輕的人坐在一起;向一位年長或年輕的鄰居介紹自己。您可以從他們的觀點中獲益,甚至也可以發現您在職涯中,有關世代方面,以前所不知道的事情。」

Lindsey Pollak 是兩本紐約時報最暢銷書籍的作者,也是一名顧問,幫助希望在當今工作環境中取得成功的年輕專業人士,以及希望招募、留住和吸引這些年輕人的組織。

Anna Davies 為紐約時報、紐約、 Refinery29、Glamour、Elle 等寫作,並已出版了 13 本青年小說。

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.

How to embrace generational diversity in the workplace—and gain a competitive edge from it

Having colleagues older and younger than you can help drive innovation, says the author of a new book on multigenerational working

When the energy of a party ebbs, DJs have a trick: They play a remix. “Immediately, it gets everyone on their feet. Older people recognize the anchor song, while younger people are drawn to the newer songs and beats mixed in,” says millennial and multigenerational expert Lindsey Pollak, who says that this is what inspired the title of her most recent book, The Remix: How to Lead and Succeed in the Multigenerational Workplace. “There are parallels for the workplace, too. All generations have different experience, different energy, and bring different talents and qualities into the mix.” 

In her research, Pollak found that companies that actively worked to buck the “exclusive young talent” trend—think hoodies and ping pong tables—had an advantage in being able to relate to clients and talent across generations as well as innovate and problem-solve. The numbers confirm it: According to a 2018 Randstad Workmonitor study, 86 percent of global workers prefer working on a multigenerational team, citing innovation and creativity as the reason. And there’s more opportunity than ever to hire across generations: Americans over 65 are employed at the highest rate in more than 50 years, and over a quarter-million Americans over 85 are actively working. 

What generations are in the workforce?

These are six generations of customers and talent: 

  • Traditionalists (born between 1928 and 1945): Loyal, formal, and proud.
  • Baby boomers (born between 1946 and 1964): Self-focused, optimistic, and competitive.
  • Generation Jones (born between 1955 and 1965): Adaptable, open, and able to balance idealism and cynicism. They are a “microgeneration” affected by the technological advances and globalism of the 1970s and 1990s.
  • Generation X (born between 1965 to 1980): Tech pioneers, independent, and skeptical. The oldest Gen Xers benefited from the booming economy of the 1980s, and the group as a whole was hit by the dot-com bust of the late 1990s.
  • Millennials (born between 1981 and 1996): Tech-dependent, purpose-driven, and self-expressive, having come of age in the era of cellphones and WiFi. 
  • Generation Z (born in 1997 and beyond): Cautious (they were coming of age during the 2008 recession and its aftermath, and may still be struggling with overwhelming student loan debt), diverse, and technologically advanced. The oldest members of this generation are just beginning their careers. 

Understanding that clients and coworkers could span these generations can encourage you to cast a wider net in networking and socializing.

Five ways to embrace multigenerational diversity in the workplace

Pollak offers the following ways to encourage generational diversity and inclusion—and maximize its impact. 

1. Don’t make age a thing

“People can be self-conscious about their age, especially if they’re speaking with a hiring manager who is younger than [they are],” notes Pollak. If you’re interviewing for a job—or interviewing talent for a job—don’t make wisecracks like, “I was doing this job since before you were born.” Not only does it make the other person uncomfortable, but it makes it harder to see commonalities: Yes, you may have decades more experience than the person on the other side of the desk, but you also may have very similar backgrounds. Look for what you have in common. 

2. Remember: ‘Annoying’ is ageless

It’s tempting to blame a colleague’s annoying behavior—text-speak on formal emails; insisting on phone calls rather than Slack—on his or her age. But this is really more of a personality issue, says Pollak. “Instead of assuming someone’s behavior will never change, you have two choices: Either accept the behavior or, if it’s truly impacting your work, coach them on what may be more appropriate and suggest a solution.” For example, if you find yourself bewildered by your coworker’s text-speak, let him know that, and introduce him to Gmail’s canned responses for quick messaging.

3. Use multiple communication streams

Working among different generations is also a reminder that you’re connecting with individuals on the job, says Pollak. Think of multiple ways to communicate your message: Some people respond to social media; some prefer a podcast or YouTube, while others would rather read online or receive direct mail. “It’s not a matter of, ‘Oh, this person is in their 50s, so let’s send them something in the mail,’ it’s a matter of recognizing that not everyone wants to receive information the same way you do.” Using multiple communication streams both internally and externally can foster an inclusive culture.

4. Create a strong onboarding program

One of the great things about a multigenerational workplace is that you can forget about “the way it was always done.” But to do that, you must clearly communicate how your office operates. Instead of assuming people automatically know how to use Google Suite or Slack, consider onboarding that teaches hirees how your company uses these tools. In addition, displaying good examples of workplace successes—useful email templates, sales-pitch coaching, shadowing an experienced employee—can all help people onboard quickly without singling anyone out as being “old-fashioned” or “too young to know anything.”

5. Audit your personal life

“I’ve found that, in their personal lives, most people don’t interact with anyone more than a decade older or decade younger than them, not counting relatives,” says Pollak. Assess your own generational mix. If you see the same one-decade spread, Pollak suggests expanding your circle. “Sit with someone older or younger at a conference; introduce yourself to an older or younger neighbor. You’ll gain the advantage of their perspective, and it may also open your eyes to what’s missing, generation-wise, in your professional life.”

Lindsey Pollak is the author of two New York Times-bestselling books, and an advisor to both young professionals looking to succeed in today’s work environment and the organizations that want to recruit, retain, and engage them.

Anna Davies has written for the New York Times, New York magazine, Refinery29, Glamour, Elle, and others, and has published 13 young adult novels.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.