這五家食品公司如何開創一個更永續的未來

快樂母雞所下的蛋,轉化為資源的食物垃圾,以及這些組織拯救地球的其他方式

無可避免地:我們的食物選擇會對環境造成直接影響。雖然減少食肉是減少造成地球暖化的溫室氣體的絕佳起點,但仍有許多方法能讓消費者和食品公司減少氣候足跡。 

隨著對更環保的飲食的需求日益迫切 ,許多使命主導的食品公司都在尋求氣候變化危機的解決方案。以下組織皆為 WeWork Food Labs 的成員,他們設想一個更永續的未來,並透過食品努力使這個未來成為現實。 

將食品浪費轉化為優質口味

Spare Food Co. 評估如何將通常浪費掉的食物用於改善食譜與節省公司資金。照片由 Spare Food Co. 提供

Spare Food Co., WeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

Adam 和 Jeremy Kaye 兄弟於 2019 年 5 月創立 Spare Food Co.,以幫助解決地球艱鉅的食品浪費問題:美國浪費約 40% 國內種植的食物。 Adam 與 Blue Hill 的廚師和共同創始人 Dan Barber 合作近二十年,學會以「通常一般廚師不會使用」的創新方式利用植物,因此他對食品和食品系統的看法歷經了「劇烈改變」。他的兄弟 Jeremy 多年與 Patagonia 等品牌合作致力於使時尚更具永續性。這對兄弟使用被忽視及未使用的食材研發產品,同時為飯店餐館、快速慢食餐飲、大型企業廚房和雜貨店的食品服務經銷商提供諮詢服務,並攔截浪費及將其重新引入市場。

「我們刻意把公司叫做 Spare Food(剩食)。」Jeremy 說。「沒人想吃垃圾、思考食品浪費問題或為此感到愧疚。我們把公司取名為『剩食』,就表示我们會開始思考如何在食品系統中看到更多價值。」Jeremy 說,如果我們繼續管理「減少浪費」,我們將繼續浪費下去。但如果我們將食物視為「剩食」,就能更專注於他所謂的「食品優化」。 

Adam 說:「社會上存在著無盡的比賽將會持續生產越來越多的食物」,美國需要專注於將已有的資源物盡其用。Spare Food 可以幫助公司投資變革管理,攔截通常被扔掉的食品,將其變成醬料、調味品、湯底、沾醬和佐料。

將永續魚產引進新型壽司廚房

Zoku, WeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

在 Instagram 上檢視此貼文

用❤️在我們的廚房製作的料理!

Zoku Sushi (@zokusushi) 於 分享的貼文

Zoku Sushi 的菜單上不會出現鰻魚或鮪魚。雖然這兩種魚是日本餐廳的人氣食材,但 Zoku 刻意不使用這兩種魚。「我們根據季節和風味來取用種類廣泛的普及食材」,2019 年 2 月創立 Zoku 的公司創始人Charlie Yi 說。「享用壽司不一定要吃北方黑鮪。」 

Yi 的目標是以永續的價格為客戶提供新鮮、永續的壽司。Zoku 的網站每天會更新一次「到貨公告」,以公佈每日魚類食材及其來源的資訊。「我們嘗試供應客人白魚,因為白魚比其他魚類更普及,我們可以讓消費者受惠於節省的成本。」他說。為了確保永續料理的美味,Yi 聘請一位曾任職於 Nobu 餐廳的廚師來料理食材、培訓廚師及創造菜單。 

Zoku 不是一間餐廳,而是 Yi 所謂的一個「數位廚房」。這裡沒有座位,而且只接受外賣訂單。這類虛擬廚房在業界越來越普遍,因為消費者偏好外送的便利性。Yi 說:「在紐約這樣的都會中心經營一家餐廳的主要成本太高。Zoku 能夠節省約 50% 標準餐廳的外送成本,這樣可以讓客戶省錢,並且讓員工過得還不錯。我們廚房的平均薪資遠高於最低薪資標準,」Yi 說。他還補充,每位員工的收入皆超過紐約的最低時薪 15 美元。 

Zoku 的第一批訂單來自 WeWork 社區成員,他們在為一個餐飲活動尋找美味的料理。事實證明這種夥伴關係能讓雙方受惠,而且只會不斷發展:Zoku 目前在紐約都會區為大約 25 個 WeWork 地點供應料理。接下來,數位廚房來到美國西岸。

支持創新,讓蔬食成為全球標準

The Good Food Institute, WeWork One City Center, North Carolina

致力於推廣植物性食品的非營利組織 Good Food Institute 表示,吃動物很快就會成為過時的做法。該機構於 2016 年創立,為注重蔬食和試管肉的新創公司提供一系列服務和見解。GFI 也召集其不斷增長的愛好者社群來支持以植物為主的更多品牌,並宣傳基於植物的成功案例,例如 Dunkin 最近在食品業與 Beyond Meat 的合作。

GFI 的共同創始人兼執行長 Bruce Friedrich 認為,未來世界的蛋白質來源為不使用動物的肉品和無屠宰肉品。事實上,根據 Friedrich 的說法,「創新能將動物從工業系統完全去除」。

「如果蔬食和人造肉更有利可圖,公司為什麼還要繼續工業養殖肉類?當然不會。」Friedrich 近期表示。「歷史已多次證實這一點。只要看看現狀就知道,我們已經不用馬來拉車運貨、不靠牛來犁田、不捕鯨來榨油、不使用豬類胰島素、不養鴿子來送信了。沒有歷史案例能證明,更好的動物替代品無法取代根深柢固的動物奴役。」

使用訂製系統減少非乳製奶的碳足跡

NüMilk, WeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

NüMilk 機器在不到一分鐘的時間內製造及分配新鮮的非乳製奶。照片由 NüMilk 提供

毫無疑問,杏仁奶已獲得現代廚房主食的地位,而且頭上還頂著健康的光環。然而,雖然非乳製品替代品與同情心畫上等號(例如:不依賴動物生產),但是將飲品從 A 點運輸到 B 點可能會對環境不利。 

NüMilk 提供的解決方案可以減少與生產和運輸相關的環境影響:一台自助販賣機可以在不到一分鐘的時間內製造和分配非乳製奶。NüMilk 的營運長 Will Finkelstein 說:「我們的創新供應鏈使 NüMilk 能提供比當今國內品牌還要新鮮、營養更豐富、更美味的非乳製奶 ,而且環境足跡更少。」「把液體運往全國各處不但並非最經濟的方式,而且還一點也不環保。」

一卡車的 NüMilk 食材所生產的在 NüMilk 販賣機上出售的非乳製奶,與利用 8 輛卡車將工廠製造的乳品運送至全國各地的牛奶量相同。Finkelstein 解釋說,從產品供應鏈中去除液體可以減輕產品的重量,因而減輕運輸產品的重量。「這些機器都是小型工廠,可以當場生產產品」,他在談到販賣機時說,在紐約都會區的數家 Whole Foods 超市都有這些販賣機。

大規模配送人道飼養的有機農場新鮮雞蛋

Handsome Brook Farm, WWeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

產蛋母雞被賦予了傳統蛋製品業從未優先考慮過的優質生活。照片由 Handsome Brook Farm 授權 Michael George 拍攝

傳統的雞蛋產業已發展出令人難以置信的高效雞蛋生產方法—每個月生產 90 億顆雞蛋—但這些方法並沒有為母雞改善生活品質(如果有的話)。這個產業不僅殘酷地對待這些禽類,而且還消耗大量的環境資源。為了以如此驚人的速度生產大量雞蛋,農場使用大量能源來冷卻及加熱雞舍,同時在過程中排出大量廢氣。 

Handsome Brook Farm 的雞蛋具有農夫市場的品質,但能大量供應(表示不必尋找在地農夫市場來取得)。這些雞蛋來自 10 個州超過 65 個小農場,而且全是牧場養殖的有機產品(也就是雞蛋界的高級品)。更具體地說,每隻 Handsome Brook Farm 母雞至少有 10 平方公尺 (108 平方英尺)的牧場活動區,可以在其中漫遊及覓食,而且每隻母雞都食用有機、無化學且無農藥的食物。該公司將供應鏈構想應用於一個透過機械化系統觸及大多數消費者且殘酷對待動物的產業,同時保有獨立貢獻者往往優先考慮的個人且人道的做法。 

「事實證明,當您更友善地對待動物時,牠們會生產更好的產品。」該公司的首席行銷長 Matt Sherman 說。在過去六年中,Handsome Brook Farm 已成為美國最大的有機牧場養殖雞蛋生產商。透過彙整其農場網路,Handsome Brook Farm 建立了一個「能讓農民擁有負擔得起的小農場,同時保有農業生活方式的永續系統,進而帶來更美味的產品。」Sherman 說。

How these five food companies are building a more sustainable future

Eggs from happy hens, food waste turned into resources, and other ways these organizations are saving the planet

There’s no way around it: Our food choices have a direct impact on the environment. While reducing our meat consumption is a great start to cut the amount of greenhouse gases responsible for warming the planet, there are numerous ways both consumers and food companies can reduce our climate footprint. 

As the need for greener diets becomes increasingly dire, a slew of mission-focused food companies are seeking solutions to the climate change crisis. The organizations below, all members of WeWork Food Labs, envision a more sustainable future and, through food, are working hard to make this future a reality. 

Transforming food waste into superior taste

Spare Food Co. assesses how foods that traditionally go to waste can instead be used to improve recipes and save companies money. Photograph courtesy of Spare Food Co.

Spare Food Co., WeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

Brothers Adam and Jeremy Kaye launched Spare Food Co. in May 2019 to help solve the planet’s unyielding food waste problem: Approximately 40 percent of the food grown in the U.S. goes to waste. Adam, who spent nearly two decades working alongside Blue Hill chef and cofounder Dan Barber, learned innovative ways to use parts of plants that he “wouldn’t ordinarily see as a traditional chef,” and as a result underwent a “pretty seismic shift” in the way he thinks about food and food systems. Together with Jeremy, who spent years working with brands like Patagonia to make fashion more sustainable, the brothers create products from overlooked and unused ingredients while advising food-service distributors in hospitality, fast casual, large-scale corporate kitchens, and groceries to address and capture waste and reintroduce it back into the market. 

“We call our company Spare Food for an intentional reason,” says Jeremy. “No one wants to eat waste, think about waste, or feel guilty around it. If we call it ‘spare,’ we start thinking about how to see more value in the system.” If we continue to manage “waste reduction,” Jeremy says, we’ll continue to waste. If we look at food as “spare,” on the other hand, we’ll be better focused on what he calls “food optimization.” 

“There’s this hamster-wheel race to keep producing more and more food,” says Adam, explaining that the country needs to instead focus on maximizing the resources it already has. Spare Food helps companies invest in change management to capture product that is usually tossed, turning it into sauces, condiments, soup bases, dips, and dressings.

Introducing sustainable fish into a new kind of sushi kitchen

Zoku, WeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

View this post on Instagram

Made with ❤️ in our kitchen!

A post shared by Zoku Sushi (@zokusushi) on

You won’t find any eel or tuna on Zoku Sushi’s menu. While these fish are two popular offerings in Japanese restaurants, their absence from Zoku is deliberate. “We do widely available products that we source based on season and flavor,” says company founder Charlie Yi, who launched Zoku in February 2019. “You don’t need to eat bluefin tuna to enjoy sushi.” 

Yi’s goal is to provide fresh, sustainable sushi to customers at a sustainable price. Zoku’s website hosts an “arrival board” updated daily to provide transparency about what type of fish is available on any given day, and from where it’s sourced. “We’re moving people to white fish because it’s so much more widely available, and we can pass on the savings to the consumer,” he says. To make sure the sustainable product is also delicious, Yi has enlisted a former Nobu chef to prepare the food, train the chefs, and create the menu. 

Zoku is not a restaurant, but a “digital kitchen,” as Yi has dubbed it. There is no seating, and orders are placed for delivery only. The industry is seeing more of these virtual kitchens pop up as consumers lean in to the delivery’s convenience. “The prime cost of running a restaurant in urban centers like New York is too high,” says Yi. Zoku is able to save about 50 percent of what a standard restaurant must invest in delivery, which allows its customers to save and its employees to make a fair living. “Our average kitchen salary is way above minimum wage,” says Yi, adding that every employee makes more than New York’s $15 per hour minimum. 

Zoku’s first orders were placed by WeWork community members searching for a tasty offering for a catered event. The partnership has proven symbiotic, and it’s only growing: Zoku currently delivers to about 25 WeWork locations in the New York metro area. Next, the digital kitchen is coming to the West Coast.

Supporting innovation to make plant-based eating a global standard 

The Good Food Institute, WeWork One City Center, North Carolina

According to the Good Food Institute, a nonprofit working to make plant-based foods ubiquitous, eating animals will soon be an outdated practice. Launched in 2016, the Institute offers a range of services and insights to early-stage companies focused on both plant-based foods and cell-based meats. GFI also rallies its growing community of enthusiasts to support more established plant-focused brands and celebrates plant-based wins—like Dunkin’s recent partnership with Beyond Meat—within the food industry.

Bruce Friedrich, GFI’s cofounder and executive director, believes that the future is a world in which protein is sourced from animal- and slaughter-free meat. In fact, according to Friedrich, “innovation will remove animals from industrial systems” altogether. 

“Why would companies keep producing factory-farmed meat if plant-based and clean meat were more profitable? They wouldn’t,” Friedrich recently wrote. “History has shown this over and over. Just look around. We don’t use horses for transportation, we don’t use oxen for plowing, we don’t kill whales for oil, we don’t use pigs for insulin, we don’t use carrier pigeons for mail. There is no historical example where creating a better alternative to animals has entrenched the industrial use of animals.”

Cutting the carbon footprint of nondairy milks with a made-to-order system

NüMilk, WeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

NüMilk machines make and dispense fresh nondairy milks in less than a minute. Photograph courtesy of NüMilk

There’s no question that almond milk has earned the status of a modern kitchen staple, and a virtuous health halo to go along with it. And yet, while the nondairy alternative is considered compassionate (as in, it doesn’t rely on animals for production), transporting cartons of the liquid from point A to point B can be rough on the environment. 

NüMilk presents a fix that reduces the environmental impact associated with production and transportation: A kiosk machine makes and dispenses nondairy milks in less than a minute. “Our innovative supply chain enables NüMilk to offer fresh, more nutritious, better-tasting dairy-free milk than today’s national brands—that’s with a smaller environmental footprint,” says Will Finkelstein, NüMilk’s chief operating officer. “Shipping liquid around the country is not the most efficient financially and, more importantly, environmentally.”

One truckload of NüMilk ingredients makes the same amount of dairy-free milk at a NüMilk kiosk machine as eight truckloads of factory-made milk that has to be shipped around the country. Removing liquid from the product’s supply chain reduces the weight of the product, thus reducing the weight of the products transported, Finkelstein explains. “The machines are mini factories, making a product right there for you,” he says of the dispensers, which are available at several Whole Foods locations in the New York Metro area.

Distributing humanely raised, organic, farm fresh eggs at scale

Handsome Brook Farm, WWeWork Food Labs, 148 Lafayette St, New York

Egg-laying hens are given quality lives that the conventional egg industry has never prioritized. Photograph courtesy of Michael George for Handsome Brook Farm

The conventional egg industry has figured out how to produce eggs at an incredibly efficient rate—think 9 billion eggs per month—but these methods don’t provide hens with much, if any, quality of life. Not only is this industry tough on birds, but it eats up a host of environmental resources, too. To produce so many eggs at such an astonishing rate, massive amounts of energy are used for cooling and heating barns while vast amounts of waste are created in the process. 

Eggs from Handsome Brook Farm are farmer market quality, but available at scale (meaning you don’t have to track down a local farmers market to get them). The eggs are sourced from a network of more than 65 small farms across 10 states, and all are pasture-raised and organic (aka the crème de la crème in the egg world). More specifically, each Handsome Brook Farm hen has at least 108 square feet of pasture on which to roam and forage, and each is fed an organic, chemical- and pesticide-free diet. The company applied supply-chain thought to an industry that reaches most of its consumers through mechanized systems with grim realities for animals while maintaining a personal and humane approach that tends to be prioritized by individual contributors. 

“It turns out, when you treat an animal better, they produce better,” says Matt Sherman, the company’s chief marketing officer. Over the past six years, Handsome Brook Farm has become the largest producer of organic, pasture-raised eggs in the U.S. By clustering its network of farms together, Handsome Brook has built a “sustainable system that allows farmers to have small farms they can afford while sustaining an agricultural lifestyle,” says Sherman. “The result is a better-tasting product.”

Elite Sweets innovate to make “performance protein donuts”

Olympia Auset’s Süprmarkt seeks to “educate and empower people” about nutrition

Raízs lets local Brazilian farmers sell organic produce online