靈活房地產的財務效益

考慮將靈活的工作空間納入您的房地產投資組合中?要考慮以下方面

靈活空間的理念過去幾年以來一直持續增溫,但我們終於在 2018 年看到了歷史性的轉變。根據 CBRE 的研究,去年光是曼哈頓的靈活空間量就從 2017 年的 87 萬平方公尺飆升至 125 萬平方公尺。 

這主要是因為企業開始接納靈活空間的概念。為什麼?企業在過去幾十年來,一直在尋找各種方法讓房地產成本變得更靈活,希望能迅速適應業務的波動,就像製造、研究和分銷部門所做的一樣。這是有道理的。靈活的工作空間能讓企業將房地產作為一種靈活資產,而不是固定資產。借助於靈活的房地產,您可以選擇工作空間將花費多少初始資本,以及您可以利用哪些緊縮和擴展權利來滿足您的業務需求。

讓我們專注於公司在選擇傳統租賃還是靈活空間時做出的財務決策。

靈活房地產 1.0:重新思考傳統 

何時應捨棄傳統租賃,選擇靈活的工作空間?企業級公司的絕大多數決策者都從資本支出的角度考慮房地產。

深綠色線表示標準租賃中隨時間產生的成本。由於您為了翻新與佈置辦公樓宇會有大量的前期支出,因此初始成本很高。過了一段時間以後,您待在一個空間越久,成本就越攤分開來,因此,便鼓勵您簽較長期的傳統租賃。 

淺綠色線表示靈活租賃中每年的成本,這時樓宇和營運成本都納入總成本中計算。這條線幾年下來都保持相對平坦。如您所見,在第四年左右,兩條線交會,而靈活空間變得相對昂貴。 

水晶球挑戰

這個模式的問題是它假設您可以預測未來,而且員工人數將會保持不變。

當然,這些現實情況是無法預測的。至此,CBRE 客戶告訴我們,雖然他們對業務的整體方向可能有信心,但根據市場、行業波動以及科技對其業務的影響等無法預見的因素,他們在細節上可能會有 10% 至 25% 的落差。

將現實世界中的不確定性和風險引入此模式會改變一切。

靈活房地產 2.0:靈活性的真正價值

現在,讓我們將現實世界應用於此財務模式,以包括公司隨著時間會遇到的風險。 

在這種情況下,因為這種模式不去假設 100 名員工將保持穩定或以固定速度上升,所以更接近現實;事實上,這個數字可能會在五年以內增加為 150 人或減少為 70 人。 

我們稱這個實例為靈活 2.0。您可以看到,如果引入不確定性,標準和靈活空間成本的兩條線實際上根本不會交會。

我們發現,實際上靈活性的價值遠遠大於靈活租賃的成本。這是越來越多公司考慮將靈活性納入其房地產投資組合中的方式。這是一幅反映長期企業現實的畫像,而不是一個固定的短期解決方案。

比較傳統和靈活的條件

讓我們來看看這如何表現在傳統和靈活的條件選項中:

  • 非最佳傳統:在非最佳傳統的情況下,這棟樓宇的平均空置率為 18%。看看黃色方塊(此場景假設您租賃的空間有一個屋頂陽台,由頂端的深綠色表示)。藍色三角形剖面線表示您可以讓出一些空間的緊縮機會,而黃色剖面線則表示如果您想要擴展空間時的擴展機會。 
  • 最佳傳統:在此模式中,我們引入了更大的靈活性。您在此佔用較少的空間,而且有幾個擴展的選擇。這使得平均空置率降為 7%,而平均淨現值 (NPV) 則降低了 11%。在此場景中,如果您的成長速度比預期快,您可能會受到一些懲罰。(儘管成長非常迅速也算是一個喜人的問題)。但是如果您的成長速度較慢,受到縮減風險的影響相對較小。總而言之,靈活性為您提供更多價值。
  • 最佳混合:現在,讓我們來看看最佳的混合租賃。樓宇低樓層的綠色帶代表企業和傳統共享辦公空間。您可以利用這些空間來進行擴展,但此時此刻卻擠滿了共享工作空間的租戶。根據這項混合租約,空置率降為只剩 2%,而平均成本則降低了 14%。無論您的成長率是高是低,您的成本最終都會低於其他任何形式的租賃。 

靈活房地產的未來

房地產不再是像過去那樣的靜態資產。有越來越多公司希望在投資組合中增加靈活元素,而我們預期這勢必會繼續增加——資料顯示,靈活房地產能獲得實質的經濟回報。

如果您想開始創業,請仔細考慮您的企業,並找出能受益於靈活空間的機會。計算潛在未來的影響可以明顯地看出,將靈活的工作空間納入投資組合中,將為您企業的現在和未來帶來最佳回報。 

要深入瞭解靈活房地產,請觀看 CBRE 和 WeWork 網路研討會「毫不妥協的靈活:靈活房地產的秘密」。

本文是由 Beth Moore,WeWork 美國、加拿大和以色列的經紀商開發主管;Brandon Forde,CBRE 諮詢和交易服務執行董事總經理;以及 Christelle Bron,CBRE 諮詢和交易服務資深董事總經理共同撰寫。

WeWork 為各種規模的公司提供辦公空間解決方案,協助克服他們最艱困的業務挑戰。 請查看我們的工作空間選項或立即聯絡我們

對工作空間有興趣?與我們取得聯繫。

The financial benefits of agile real estate

Thinking of building flexible workspace into your real estate portfolio? Here’s what to consider

The idea of flexible space has been gaining momentum over the past several years, but in 2018 we saw a profound shift. Last year, the amount of flexible space in Manhattan alone surged to 13.5 million square feet, up from 9.4 million square feet in 2017, according to CBRE research. 

Mainly, enterprise companies are starting to embrace flexible space. Why? For decades now, corporations have been looking for ways to make their real estate costs variable in order to swiftly adapt to business fluctuations in the same way that manufacturing, research, and distribution departments have done. And it makes sense. Flexible workspaces allow businesses to leverage real estate as an agile rather than a fixed asset. With agile real estate, you can choose what initial capital expenditure will go into the space, and which contraction and expansion rights you can leverage to align with your business needs.

Let’s zero in on the financial decisions that companies make when they decide between a traditional lease or an agile space.

Agile real estate 1.0: re-thinking the traditional 

When does it make sense to use a flexible workspace over a traditional lease? The vast majority of decision-makers at enterprise-level companies think about real estate in terms of capital expenditure.

The dark green line represents the costs over time in a standard lease. Because you have the large upfront expenditure of renovating and setting up the building, there’s a high initial cost. This is spread out over time the longer you’re in a space and is therefore an incentive to sign a longer traditional lease. 

The lighter green line represents costs per year in a flexible lease, where building and operational costs are baked into the overall cost. This stays relatively flat throughout the years. You can see that at around year four, the two lines converge, and it becomes relatively more expensive to be in a flexible space. 

The crystal ball challenge

The problem with this model is that it assumes you can predict the future and that the number of employees will be constant.

These are realities that are, of course, impossible to predict. To this point, CBRE clients tell us that although they may be confident in the overall direction of their business, they could be off on the details by 10 percent to 25 percent depending on unforeseen factors such as the volatility of the market, of their industry, and of the impact of technology on their business.

Introducing uncertainty and risk from the real world into this model changes everything.

Agile real estate 2.0: the true value of flexibility

Now, let’s apply the real world to this financial model to include the risk companies encounter over time. 

In this case, instead of assuming 100 employees will hold steady or rise at a fixed rate, this model is closer to reality; the number may, in fact, increase to 150 or decrease to 70 in five years. 

We call this instance Agile 2.0. By introducing uncertainty, you can see that the two lines illustrating standard and flexible space costs don’t, in fact, converge.

What we’ve found is that the value of flexibility is actually greater than the cost of a flexible lease. This is increasingly how companies think about building agility into their real-estate portfolio. It’s a portrait that reflects long-term business realities, not a short-term, fixed solution.

Comparing traditional and flexible terms

As an example, let’s take a look at how this manifests in traditional and flexible term options:

  • Non-optimal traditional: In the non-optimal traditional case, the average vacancy rate of this building is 18 percent. Take a look at the yellow block (this scenario assumes the space you’re leasing has a roof deck, represented by the dark green on top). The blue triangle hatch lines represent contraction opportunities for you to give back some space, and the yellow hatch lines represent expansion opportunities if you’d like to expand. 
  • Optimal traditional: In this model, we introduced more flexibility. Here, you occupy less space and have a few more expansion options. This allows the average vacancy rate to drop to 7 percent, while the average net present value (NPV) is 11 percent lower. In this scenario, if you grow faster than expected, you may be penalized a bit. (Although very fast growth would still be a good problem to have). But if you grow at a slower clip, you’re much more protected against a downside risk. As a whole, flexibility gives you more value.
  • Optimal hybrid: Now, let’s look at an optimal hybrid lease. The green bands along the lower floors of the building represent enterprise and traditional coworking spaces. These are spaces that you could grow into but are filled with coworking tenants in the meantime. Under this lease, vacancy drops to just 2 percent and average costs are 14 percent lower. And regardless of whether you have high or low growth, you’ll ultimately have lower costs than with any of the other leases. 

The future of agile real estate

Real estate is no longer the static asset it once was. More companies are looking to add agile components to their portfolios, and we only expect that to increase—the data shows that there’s a real economic return with agile real estate.

If you’re looking to get started, think about your business and identify where flexible space could be beneficial. By calculating the impact of potential futures, it’s clear that building flexible workspace into your portfolio will deliver the best return for your business now, and into the future. 

To learn more about agile real estate, watch the CBRE and WeWork webinar, “Agility without compromise: secrets of agile real estate.”

WeWork offers companies of all sizes space solutions that help solve their biggest business challenges. 

Beth Moore, head of broker development, U.S., Canada, and Israel at WeWork; Brandon Forde, executive managing director, advisory and transaction services at CBRE; and Christelle Bron, senior managing director, advisory and transaction services at CBRE, wrote this article.

Interested in workspace? Get in touch.